BACK IN THE BEGINNING: THE DAYS THAT INFORMED MY CHOICES

8-2009-wine train feast resized

The summer of 2009, it was an August week, and I was headed for Napa and Wine Train adventures, among others (see above).  I was staying in a lovely little cottage and enjoying all that Napa Wine Country had to offer.

And I was very excited about the new blog I had just created:  Rainy Days and Mondays.

Post-retirement, I loved the idea that I could enjoy my Mondays.   Those of you still working that life know what I’m talking about.  No matter how much you enjoy your work, Mondays are like a damper on your joy.  Usually there is a lot of craziness after a weekend.  I remember it well!

I was also fond of that old Carpenter’s song (now this really dates me!):

Talkin’ to myself and feelin’ old
Sometimes I’d like to quit
Nothing ever seems to fit
Hangin’ around
Nothing to do but frown
Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

What I’ve got they used to call the blues
Nothin’ is really wrong
Feelin’ like I don’t belong
Walkin’ around
Some kind of lonely clown
Rainy Days and Mondays always get me down.

 

0

***

Well, this blog is my celebration of Blue Mondays No More!

I hope you’ll join me here on my newly reinvented space.  The journey remains the same…and for those of us that love books, they do “chase away the blues.”

***

2 thoughts on “BACK IN THE BEGINNING: THE DAYS THAT INFORMED MY CHOICES

  1. Love this “new” space…and I know exactly what you mean about Monday…in the teaching world…the most dreadful day…usually a day of unpleasant surprises and faculty meetings…but now…wonder filled days…if Den is home it’s our Movie Date Day!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Isn’t it great to wake up on Mondays and know that the disasters and unpleasantness of our “previous lives” are no more? Thanks for stopping by, Patty, and keep enjoying your Mondays! And how great that you have your new Movie Date Day.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

