MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: NOT READY FOR CHRISTMAS!

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

Welcome to another Thursday, and the ramblings that make up My Bookish (and Not So Bookish Thoughts), hosted by Bookishly Boisterous.

Christmas is almost here, and I am not ready!  Well, yes, I do have my decorations up, such as they are, and I have already started reading Christmas books…well, ONE.

But my mind is not there yet.  Maybe if I went out shopping and felt myself pushed, shoved, and jostled by other shoppers, that would do it.

 

 

shopping crowds

 

But since my gift-giving style these days is gift cards—in my defense, that’s what the kids want!—I have no real reason to subject myself to that hassle.

At this point in my life, Christmas shopping or any kind of shopping, other than online shopping, is a big nuisance.  But I do manage to do it when needed.  And then I usually pick a store where I can get everything…like Target, and try to pick hours that other people are not shopping.  LOL

How do you feel about shopping, Christmas or otherwise?  Am I the only one who prefers to shop from home?

***

My bookish needs are definitely satisfied most of the time by Amazon, either by purchase or review books requested through Vine.

I buy the occasional book at Barnes & Noble, which is just around the corner, and I usually pick a time when I can have coffee and a scone before shopping.

Here is what I am getting from Vine this week, and I love it!

Lillian on Life, by Alison Jean Lester

 

20783867

 

This is the story of Lillian, a single woman reflecting on her choices and imagining her future.  Born in the Midwest in the 1930s; Lillian lives, loves, and works in Europe in the fifties and early sixties; she settles in New York and pursues the great love of her life in the sixties and seventies. Now it’s the early nineties, and she’s taking stock. Throughout her life, walking the unpaved road between traditional and modern choices for women, Lillian grapples with parental disappointment and societal expectations, wins and loses in love, and develops her own brand of wisdom. Lillian on Life lifts the skin off the beautiful, stylish product of an era to reveal the confused, hot-blooded woman underneath.

 

One Step Too Far, by Tina Seskis

 

 

816WpSMw1pL._SL1500_

 

An intricately plotted, thoroughly addictive thriller that introduces a major new voice in suspense fiction—a mesmerizing and powerful novel that will keep you guessing to the very end.

No one has ever guessed Emily’s secret.

Will you?

A happy marriage. A beautiful family. A lovely home. So what makes Emily Coleman get up one morning and walk right out of her life—to start again as someone new?

Now, Emily has become Cat, working at a hip advertising agency in London and living on the edge with her inseparable new friend, Angel. Cat’s buried any trace of her old self so well, no one knows how to find her. But she can’t bury the past—or her own memories.

And soon, she’ll have to face the truth of what she’s done—a shocking revelation that may push her one step too far. . . .

***

Currently, I am reading The Paying Guests, by Sarah Waters, but alternated between that one and Monday, Monday, by Elizabeth Crook, which I finished this afternoon.  (Click for review).

 

 

914MwT8jSqL._SL1500_

81nguZwnLpL._SL1500_

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Back to The Paying Guests, I am intrigued by the story….but it’s a long one (568 pages), so I may pick up another shorter book, too.

Like Where Are You Now?, by Mary Higgins Clark. (304 pages).

 

 

81ZJj78NV9L._SL1500_

 

 

It has been ten years since twenty-one-year-old Charles MacKenzie Jr. (“Mack”) went missing. A Columbia University senior, about to graduate and already accepted at Duke University Law School, he walked out of his apartment on Manhattan’s Upper West Side without a word to his college roommates and has never been seen again. However, he does make one ritual phone call to his mother every year: on Mother’s Day. Each time, he assures her he is fine, refuses to answer her frantic questions, then hangs up. Even the death of his father, a corporate lawyer, in the tragedy of 9/11 does not bring him home or break the pattern of his calls.

Mack’s sister, Carolyn, is now twenty-six, a law school graduate, and has just finished her clerkship for a civil court judge in Manhattan. She has endured two family tragedies, yet she realizes that she will never be able to have closure and get on with her life until she finds her brother. She resolves to discover what happened to Mack and why he has found it necessary to hide from them. So this year when Mack makes his annual Mother’s Day call, Carolyn interrupts to announce her intention to track him down, no matter what it takes. The next morning after Mass, her uncle, Monsignor Devon MacKenzie, receives a scrawled message left in the collection basket: “Uncle Devon, tell Carolyn she must not look for me.”

***

Now doesn’t that pique your curiosity?  If did give me a little chill, too.

***

So I am eagerly reading away my days, doing some blogging, and trying not to go shopping!  LOL

What was your week like?

***

6 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: NOT READY FOR CHRISTMAS!

  1. I hate, hate, hate shopping when there are huge crowds of people. I don’t care how good the deals are, I will never go shopping on Black Friday. I’d rather pay more and save myself the stress. This year we did 95% of our Christmas shopping online. It made things so much easier!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

