BOOKISH SATURDAYS: TOP TEN FAVORITES OF 2014

bookish sat logo

Welcome to another edition of Bookish Saturdays.  I had originally planned to do this feature every week, but time got away from me.

Today I am going to share my Top Ten Favorite Reads of 2014.

It was surprisingly challenging to pick a top ten.  Every month, I shared one or two favorites, and more often than not, I ended up choosing two, which means I had to cull the list further for my Top Ten.

Amazingly, this means that I found a plethora of books to love this year, so if you want to see ALL my favorites, click over to my Favorites page.

Click the links to see my reviews: (Listed by month in which I read them).

 

Elizabeth is Missing, by Emma Healey – 301 pages – (psychological suspense) – 3/18/14

Goodnight June (e-book), by Sarah Jio – 320 pages – (contemporary/historical fiction) – 6/27/14

Keep Your Friends Close, by Paula Daly – 335 pages – (psychological thriller/suspense) – 6/8/14

Big Little Lies, by Liane Moriarty – 463 pages – (contemporary fiction) – 7/17/14

Little Mercies (e-book), by Heather Gudenkauf – 320 pages – (contemporary fiction) – 7/7/14

Silent Sister, The, by Diane Chamberlain – 343 pages – (contemporary fiction) – 8/27/14

We Are Not Ourselves, by Matthew Thomas – 620 pages – (historical/literary fiction) – 8/5/14

Accidents of Marriage (e-book), by Randy Susan Meyers – 354 pages – (contemporary fiction) – 10/16/14

Florence Gordon (e-book), by Brian Morton – 320 pages – (literary fiction) – 11/20/14

Twilight Hour, The, by Nicci Gerrard – 410 pages – (historical fiction) – 11/18/14

***

My Favorites List included some “old favorite” authors, like Sarah Jio, Diane Chamberlain, Heather Gudenkauf, Nicci Gerrard, and Liane Moriarty (a relatively new favorite); but some new “favorites” have shown up, so there will be more reading from them:  Randy Susan Meyers, Brian Morton, Paula Daly, Matthew Thomas, and Emma Healey.

Did you read any of these?  What were your favorites this year?

***

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH SATURDAYS: TOP TEN FAVORITES OF 2014

  1. I am surprised that I only read 3 of your top ten, since I feel we have somewhat similar taste in reading. I will have to get busy tracking down or buying some more of those titles– every single one sounds like something I would enjoy. Happy New Year, Laurel.
    (I have a new computer and don’t have my old files copied over so I’m having trouble posting here if you see another email or name of mine-Rita)

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

