A QUIET NEW YEAR’S EVE: ANOTHER WAY TO CHASE AWAY THE BLUES

blue-monday-logo

Wow!  I got through Christmas without falling apart, even though I had to set aside some books I was reading in order to spend time with family.

Okay, that sounds totally whacky!  Shouldn’t the people in my life be more important than my reading?  LOL

They are…and I especially love spending time with other readers, like my youngest grandson Noah, who happily accompanied me to Barnes & Noble to pick out books.  I wrote about it on Blue Mondays Again?

Now…just have to get through New Year’s Eve.  This is how I do it:

Have some popcorn and movies handy, preferably some old favorites like The Way We Were.  I saw the original movie on a New Year’s Eve, when it first came out on the Big Screen…yes, that was a long time ago, early seventies.

 

 

41Q542T9F4L

 

Even though I have seen it MANY times, I keep hoping that the ending will change, and Katie and Hubbell will end up together.  Sigh.

I saw Barbra Streisand and Robert Redford in an interview together…I think it was one of Oprah’s last years of shows.  So amazing.

Okay, I am a sucker for sad stories (movies) that somehow have a happy ending, or even one I wish would happen.

Then, of course, I will have some champagne to sip while I watch the ball drop on New Year’s Rockin’ Eve, with Ryan Seacrest...Oh, I miss Dick Clark, sigh.

I met him once…Dick Clark.  My second son worked for Dick Clark Productions for a few years, as a CFO, and in 1999, Dick Clark Productions and Soap Opera Digest put on the Soap Opera Awards show. (Now no longer an event..sigh).  I attended, of course, as my son gave me a ticket, and that included the pre-party as well as a Back Stage Pass.   See bottom center.

 

Mementos

Mementos

 

That event was not on a New Year’s Eve, but in February of that year.  It felt like a New Year’s Eve event for me, however.  (In case you don’t know, I am seriously addicted to soap operas, and since there are only four left, I record them all daily).

But back to my quiet New Year’s Eve….

I also have a few other movies picked out, like Beaches, Annie Hall, and Urban Cowboy.

Yes, seriously sappy.  But I love the music in Beaches and Urban Cowboy, and the humor of Annie Hall will lighten things up.

You may have noticed these are all oldies…but I have them in my own DVD Collection, which exceeds 800 movies.  Yes, I am addicted.

***

What makes your New Year’s Eve special?  Do you love parties, or quiet nights at home?  Small parties at home?

***

4 thoughts on “A QUIET NEW YEAR’S EVE: ANOTHER WAY TO CHASE AWAY THE BLUES

    • I have stopped buying DVDs lately…well, I haven’t bought many. I do occasionally pick up an oldie, something I can’t get on On Demand.

      I am a big Robert Redford fan….thanks for stopping by, Susan.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

