BOOKISH SATURDAYS: PLANNING MY READS

bookish sat logo

Welcome to another edition of Bookish Saturdays.

Typically, I am already adding more books to my shelves, but the two I just added are ARCs, so they won’t actually stay on my shelves once I’ve read and reviewed them.

But they piqued my interest.

After Birth, by Elisa Albert, sounds so intriguing.

 

 

51TKfRc-CZL

 

A year has passed since Ari gave birth to Walker, though it went so badly awry she has trouble calling it “birth” and still she can’t locate herself in her altered universe. Amid the strange, disjointed rhythms of her days and nights and another impending winter in upstate New York, Ari is a tree without roots, struggling to keep her branches aloft.

When Mina, a one-time cult musician — older, self-contained, alone, and nine-months pregnant —moves to town, Ari sees the possibility of a new friend, despite her unfortunate habit of generally mistrusting women. Soon they become comrades-in-arms, and the previously hostile terrain seems almost navigable.

With piercing insight, purifying anger, and outrageous humor, Elisa Albert issues a wake-up call to a culture that turns its new mothers into exiles, and expects them to act like natives. Like Lionel Shriver’s We Need to Talk About Kevin and Anne Enright’s The Gathering, this is a daring and resonant novel from one of our most visceral writers.

***

And next, I added All Day and a Night, by Alafair Burke.  She co-authored The Cinderella Murder with Mary Higgins Clark, (click for my review), which was my First Book of 2015.

 

 

510LRYxCFTL

 

When psychotherapist Helen Brunswick is murdered in her Park Slope office, the entire city suspects her estranged husband—until the District Attorney’s office receives an anonymous letter. The letter’s author knows a chilling detail that police have kept secret: the victim’s bones were broken after she was killed. Her injuries were eerily similar to the signature used twenty years earlier by Anthony Amaro, a serial killer serving a life sentence for his crimes. Now, Amaro is asking to be released from prison, arguing that he was wrongly convicted, and that the true killer is still on the loose.

NYPD Detectives Ellie Hatcher and JJ Rogan are tapped as the “fresh look” team to reassess the original investigation that led to Amaro’s conviction. The case pits them against both their fellow officers and a hard-charging celebrity defense lawyer with a young associate named Carrie Blank, whose older sister was one of Amaro’s victims.

As the NYPD and Amaro’s lawyers search for certainty among conflicting evidence, their investigations take them back to Carrie’s hometown, where secrets buried long ago lead to a brutal attack—one that makes it terrifyingly clear that someone has gotten too close to the truth.

***

I think I am all set for an intense couple of reads.

Currently, I am reading I Love You More, by Jennifer Murphy…another murder mystery.

 

 

81BcwAc8e0L._SL1500_

 

One man, three wives, the perfect murder. A scintillating novel of betrayal and conspiracy.

 

***

What does your Saturday hold for you?  Reading, movies, errands?  I have also been organizing Sparky (my Kindle) with a collection for Books Read in 2015…and making sure that my previous collections are organized as well.

***

4 thoughts on “BOOKISH SATURDAYS: PLANNING MY READS

  1. Some intense reads you have there! I like a good one now and again so I’ll check them out. I need to also organize my kindle for the new year. I am really bad at it and just go by most recent downloaded one. Time to change for the new year!

    Like

    • Thanks for visiting, Rita…I had to set up collections on Sparky, as I have too many books! Is there such a thing as too many books? LOL

      Just went shopping with Fiona, my granddaughter, and bought an iPhone for me…my first. She will try to teach this old dog some new tricks.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

