MUSING & CHASING AWAY THE BLUES

blue-monday-logo

I am feeling a surge of energy, now that the holidays are behind me.  Do they sometimes pack a punch, and remind you of your fragility?  As if the years are showing in our bodies and not just our faces?

Join Miz B, at Should Be Reading, and others who will be pondering these topics:

 

• Describe one of your reading habits.
• Tell us what book(s) you recently bought for yourself or someone else, and why you chose that/those book(s).
• What book are you currently desperate to get your hands on? Tell us about it!
• Tell us what you’re reading right now — what you think of it, so far; why you chose it; what you are (or, aren’t) enjoying it.
• Do you have a bookish rant? Something about books or reading (or the industry) that gets your ire up? Share it with us!
• Instead of the above questions, maybe you just want to ramble on about something else pertaining to books — let’s hear it, then!
• What are you currently reading? What do you think you’ll read next? What did you recently finish reading?

***

As usual, I’ll be rambling today.  My motto here, at this site, is Chasing Away the Blues, and I do it most effectively through reading…and blogging.

Did you all manage to get through the holidays with a modicum of joy and few frustrations?

Every holiday seems to bring a little of both…and more.  Sometimes family can wear us down, but then we remind ourselves of all those families in the books we read…the ones we are glad not to belong to.

Like the book I am reading now, I Love You More, in which a man is murdered, and probably by one of the three “wives” he had in secret.

 

 

81BcwAc8e0L._SL1500_

 

The story has multiple narrators, from the young daughter of the murdered man with the intriguing name of “Picasso,” to the detective on the case.  And then the voice of the “wives,” in a plural perspective, which was interesting.

Next, I hope to read A Small Indiscretion, the last review book on my stack of Vine books…for now.  As I have requested two more.

 

 

91fQR-bOAgL._SL1500_

 

For readers of Meg Wolitzer, Elizabeth Strout, and Anna Quindlen, A Small Indiscretion is a gripping and ultimately redemptive novel of love and its dangers, marriage and its secrets, youth and its treacherous mistakes.

***

The two books coming this week from Vine:

 

After Birth, by Elisa Albert

 

 

51TKfRc-CZL

A widely acclaimed young writer’s fierce new novel, in which childbirth and new motherhood are as high stakes a proving ground as any combat zone

 

And then:

 

All Day and a Night, by Alafair Burke

 

 

510LRYxCFTL

 

A new murder case with ties to a convicted serial killer leads Detective Ellie Hatcher into a twisting investigation with explosive and deadly results in this superb mystery from the “terrific web spinner” (Entertainment Weekly) Alafair Burke.

***

Can I count on these books to help me chase away the blues, and remind me that my family isn’t the most dysfunctional one out there?  LOL

What are your thoughts today, on this “Blue” Monday?

***

13 thoughts on “MUSING & CHASING AWAY THE BLUES

  1. I can guarantee you that your family isn’t most dysfunctional one out there. There are people in worse situation.

    I am curious about “I Love You More”. How did that wives’ voice thing turned out?

    Like

    • Perhaps bookish people are authorities on family dysfunction…I know that I hid in books to avoid conflicts…LOL.

      Thanks for stopping by, Cheryl, and putting away the Christmas decorations is not fun…but this year, it went fast for me. Probably because I didn’t bring out as many things.

      Like

  2. So many great sounding titles! I had to add them to my wish list. I’m going to try to get a couple as audiobooks–especially if they offer different narrators for the different points of view.

    Like

    • Thanks, Kwizgiver…and while I don’t do audio, it sounds tempting when you mention the possibilities of different narrators. That reminds me a little of when I was a kid and listening to stories on the radio. Wow! That was a really long time ago.

      Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

