BOOKISH SATURDAY: A FEW OBSESSIONS….

bookish sat logo

Welcome to another Bookish Saturday, my place to share my thoughts about books…and sometimes other semi-bookish things.  Like today, when I talk a little about my obsession for magazines.

Yes, that’s what I said.  And with a lot of magazines now going online, I am even more dedicated to holding the glorious and glossy pages in my hands.

I love magazines about decorating, so I subscribe to a few of those, like Country Living.  I also enjoy the ones that feature celebrities…not necessarily the tabloid types. 

Here are a few I found scattered around my home:

 

 

magazines 2

 

magazines 1

 

In the above photo, some of the decorating magazines are older…I save them, since I can always find something that piques my interest in design.

***

Now that I have revealed another of my “guilty pleasures,” let’s talk books.  I am reading The Girl on the Train, and it didn’t grab me right away.  But now I am fully immersed in the weird world of our unreliable narrators.

I feel sorry for Rachel, and I’m wondering what she might have done, since she has those blackouts.  Can’t wait to get back to it!

 

 

91LSRmuankL._SL1500_

 

 

I like these snippets:

The Girl on the Train has more fun with unreliable narration than any chiller since Gone Girl. . . . [It] is liable to draw a large, bedazzled readership.”—The New York Times

“Like its train, the story blasts through the stagnation of these lives in suburban London and the reader cannot help but turn pages.”—The Boston Globe

***

Now some readers have criticized the comparison to Gone Girl…and I don’t like when publicists toss those phrases around…they set the reader up with unrealistic expectations.  I would like to approach the book without those…so I’m trying not to expect anything in particular…except the unique journey of this book.

***

I am eagerly anticipating a Vine book that I ordered earlier this week…it was supposed to arrive yesterday.  So today, perhaps?

You Can Trust Me, by Sophie McKenzie, will be my first from this author.

 

 

81WTwkB61VL._SL1500_

 

 

On a quiet, gray, Saturday morning, Livy arrives at her best friend Julia’s flat for a lunch date only to find her dead. Though all the evidence supports it, Livy cannot accept the official ruling of suicide; the Julia she remembers was loud, inappropriate, joyful, outrageous and loving, not depressed. The suspicious circumstances cause Livy to dig further, and she is suddenly forced to confront a horrifying possibility: that Julia was murdered, by the same man who killed Livy’s sister, Kara, eighteen years ago.

Desperate to understand the tragedies of her past and hold her unraveling life together, Livy throws herself into the search for Kara and Julia’s killer, who she now believes is someone close to her family. But if that is true, can she still trust anyone? Damien, the man Julia was secretly dating? Leo, her husband’s boss and a close family friend? His son Paul, her husband’s best mate since college? Or even Will, her own dear husband, who has betrayed her perhaps one time too many?

And when Livy finally faces her sister’s killer, and he traps her with one horrible, impossible choice, she must finally decide: is she strong enough to trust herself?

***

Now I’m off to read some more…what bookish treats are you celebrating today?

***

6 thoughts on “BOOKISH SATURDAY: A FEW OBSESSIONS….

  1. I agree that comparing a book to another for publicity purposes usually sets it up for a fall. I remember reading ‘Queen of the Tearling’, which was described as next Game of thrones. It was a great book no doubt, but it was nothing like the Game of thrones series!

    Like

  2. I didn’t know that about you and magazines! I have totally stopped subscribing to all magazines…for my own mental health and well being…lol! And because Lucy and Roxie were shredding them!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

