BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS – READING & DREAMING

blue-monday-logo

Welcome to the Blue Mondays edition of Musing Mondays, hosted by Should Be Reading.

Here are some prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Do you have people in your life (face-to-face) that are readers like you? Or, do you find that you have to reach out to those online in order to find like-minded folk?

***

I have loved every Diane Chamberlain book I’ve read, some more than others.  But what I’m currently reading, The Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, has so engaged me that I kept waking up last night to read some more.

 

 

41uKuELXwnL

 

In 1977, pregnant Genevieve Russell disappeared. Twenty years later, her remains are discovered and Timothy Gleason is charged with murder. But there is no sign of the unborn child.

CeeCee Wilkes knows how Genevieve Russell died, because she was there. And she knows what happened to her missing infant, because two decades ago she made the devastating choice to raise the baby as her own. Now Timothy Gleason is facing the death penalty, and she has another choice to make. Tell the truth and destroy her family. Or let an innocent man die in order to protect a lifetime of lies.

***

The story begins in the present, with “Corinne,” the child CeeCee raised…and the astonishing announcement she makes in a press conference.

Then we are swept back into the past and discover how CeeCee was drawn into this horrific situation…and what led to her choice.

***

The strangest thing happened as I read, though.  I would wake up and read for a while, then go back to sleep.  And then I dreamed about the story.  But like a movie playing, the events in my dream were so different.  When I woke up, I had to check the story, to make sure that it hadn’t happened like it did in my dream.

I guess my dream took “creative license” with the story…LOL.

***

And to answer the random question:

I have one friend who reads, but her choices are usually quite different from mine.  She does love one author I have been reading lately:  Jayne Ann Krentz.

But to really connect with like-minded readers, I go to my online friends.

***

What are you musing about today?

***

12 thoughts on “BLUE MONDAYS MUSINGS – READING & DREAMING

  1. I knew you’d love CeeCee! I’m musing over what to read next. I’m not in a slump, but I’m not really excited about anything I have from the library right now. Since we’re snowed in I can’t get out to get anything, but thank goodness for ebook downloads!

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

