BLUE MONDAYS: MUSING ABOUT READING INFLUENCES

blue-monday-logo

 

Welcome to another opportunity to Chase Away the Blues.  Join others who are musing over at A Daily Rhythm, with Miz B.

Here are some topics:

 

  • I’m currently reading…

  • Up next I think I’ll read…

  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…

  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…

  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…

  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…

  • I wish I could read ___, but…

  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Who (or what) influences your reading most?

***

Since I started blogging, I have noticed that my reading has definitely changed.  Others are sharing about a book they loved, and then I want to check it out.  I don’t necessarily pick up everything others do, in fact I am wary of anything too far out of my comfort zone.  But nowadays, I do choose books I would not have chosen even five years ago.

My old favorites are still my comfort reads, but I have added several “new favorite” authors after reading about their books on other blogs.

One of my favorite new-to-me authors (in the last two years or so) is JoJo Moyes.  I also love Lianne Moriarty.  When I see something by either of these authors, I definitely bookmark it and hope it will show up on Vine…or if not, I might buy the Kindle version.

Sarah Jio and Heather Gudenkauf are other favorites these days.

 

Here are some from my Top Ten Favorites List of 2014: (Click Titles for My Reviews)

 

Big Little Lies, by Lianne Moriarty

 

 

81iucjyd9l-_sl1500_

 

Little Mercies, by Heather Gudenkauf

 

 

71hlh-qjljl-_sl1206_

 

 

 

Goodnight June, by Sarah Jio

 

81ax3ftagwl-_sl1500_

 

***

And Diane Chamberlain is another favorite go-to author…I’ve been finding some engaging reads in her backlist this year, like the    Secret Life of CeeCee Wilkes, The (e-book), by Diane Chamberlain – 490 pages – (historical/contemporary fiction) – 2/9/15.

Her book, The Silent Sister, made my list of favorites in 2014, a newer one.

 

 

81zeib1k-wl-_sl1500_

 

***

So many interesting titles that I might have missed without blogging.

What are you musing about today?

***

18 thoughts on “BLUE MONDAYS: MUSING ABOUT READING INFLUENCES

  1. Like you I know what I like to read but blogging has opened up a whole new raft of authors that might of otherwise passed me by. I love Jojo Moyes but doubt I would have chosen one of these without the rave reviews and Liane Moriarty is another favourite. I’m now going to keep a lookout for Sarah Jio… See what happens?

    Like

  2. I remember reading a Diane Chamberlain book a few years back (Breaking the Silence) and absolutely loved it! It’s not something I would have usually went for but there was limited selection at the airport and I am so glad I picked it up! Hopefully get round to reading more by her soon.

    Like

  3. One thing that fascinates me about blogging is reading the wide variety of thoughts on a book. I enjoy seeing why people loved a book that I might not have liked and seeing why they may not have liked a book I love. It may not change my opinion, but it still makes a fascinating conversation.

    Like

  4. Some authors I love too mentioned here Laurel-Rain, I really enjoy Jojo Moyes and I love Liane Moriarty – I am just reading one of hers now on my kindle and think she is brilliant. I don’t know if I would have known about either without blogging, or whether I would have tried them. Lindsay

    Like

  5. Blogging certainly does bring new avenues of books to all of us. I know that for me, I’ve really dived into the British crime novels. So many authors that I hadn’t been familiar with here and such lovely backlists. By the way, I read a really good Chamberlain book a couple of years ago, THE GOOD FATHER. You might want to check that one out if you haven’t read it. 😉

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

