MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: LOSING THINGS, GAINING THINGS

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

Here we are again, rambling on about our thoughts, our feelings, and our perspectives.  Join our host at Bookishly Boisterous, to see what others are chatting about.

Sometimes I wonder how I create the crazy dreams I have!  There are those that spring from the books and movies I watch during the day.  And sometimes they are all about relationships I am having…and those issues.

But last night’s dream, which I won’t repeat in detail here, seemed like a jumble of all kinds of moments from the past, and in the end, seemed to be about moving from one apartment to another and losing items along the way.

And now that I have written it out, it is quite obvious to me.  I am getting older…okay, aren’t we all?  And while I am in good health (knock wood!), I can envision a time in the DISTANT FUTURE, hopefully, when I might have to move closer to the grown kids…and that is not a thought I enjoy having.  For example, my daughter has a lovely and large enough house, but she has told me that if I moved in, I couldn’t bring all of my stuff.  Even though my financial contribution would make things easier for her. 

Actually, I recall the last time we lived together, when she was a teenager….and I cringe at the thought of sharing space with her!  On to better solutions!

***

So now I get why I had the dream of losing things along the way.  But, like Scarlett, I will think about it tomorrow!

***

On to bookish topics, in which I bury myself in the books and try not to think about real life….

I have cut down on my acquisitions from Amazon Vine…but this week, I found some books I could not pass up.

 

Summer Secrets, by Jane Green, is on the way here.

 

 

81NcASRyclL._SL1500_

 

June, 1998. At twenty-seven, Cat Coombs is struggling. She lives in London, works as a journalist, and parties hard. When she discovers the identity of the father she never knew she had, it sends her into a spiral. She makes mistakes that cost her the budding friendship of the only women who have ever welcomed her. And nothing is ever the same after that. June, 2014. Cat’s life has come full circle. She wants to make amends to those she has hurt. Her quest takes her to Nantucket, the gorgeous New England island where the women she once called family still live. What Cat doesn’t realize is that these women, her real father’s daughters, have secrets of their own. As the past collides with the present, Cat must confront the darkest things in her own life and uncover the depths of someone’s need for revenge.

I have really enjoyed the last few books I’ve read by this author, so I am looking forward to it.

***

And just this morning, Patty, from Books, Thoughts and a Few Adventures alerted me to a book that sounded really tempting…and, of course, I had to have it.

 

The One That Got Away, by Bethany Chase, is a “bright, funny debut” for fans of Emily Giffin and Jennifer Weiner.

 

 

22716454

 

 

Sarina Mahler thinks she has her life all nailed down: a growing architecture practice in Austin, Texas, and an any-day-now proposal from her loving boyfriend, Noah. She’s well on her way to having the family she’s hoped for since her mother’s death ten years ago. But with Noah on a temporary assignment abroad and retired Olympic swimmer—and former flame—Eamon Roy back in town asking her to renovate his new fixer-upper, Sarina’s life takes an unexpected turn. Eamon proves to be Sarina’s dream client, someone who instinctively trusts every one of her choices—and Sarina is reminded of all the reasons she was first drawn to him back in the day. Suddenly her carefully planned future with Noah seems a little less than perfect. And when tragedy strikes, Sarina is left reeling. With her world completely upended, she is forced to question what she truly wants in life—and in love.

Full of both humor and heartbreak, The One That Got Away is the story of one woman’s discovery that, sometimes, life is what happens when you leave the blueprints behind.

***

Life has a way of kicking ass, doesn’t it?  But I love reading about these kinds of unexpected twists and turns…and seeing how the characters work things out.  And yes, it’s fiction.  But sometimes we can learn a thing or two from fiction.

***

What has your week brought you, in books or in life moments?  Dreams?

***

2 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: LOSING THINGS, GAINING THINGS

    • Yes, Patty, you are! LOL

      I just got that last book today…sadly, it has the icky pink cover, but oh, well!

      Cabbages, hmm….I will have to think about that one! It’s probably something as simple as you are thinking about St. Patrick’s Day, and Corned Beef and Cabbage?

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

