BLUE MONDAYS: A POTPOURRI OF MUSINGS….

blue-monday-logo

Mondays are my favorite time of the week….yet once upon a time, I dubbed them Blue Mondays.  That moniker came as a result of that stressful career I had for thirty years…and it was only after I moved BEYOND it, that I could celebrate Mondays.  And now I read and blog to chase away the blues.

Today I’m celebrating Mondays by musing with Jen, at A Daily Rhythm, her revamped blog site.  Check it out!

Here are some topics:

 

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: How often do you use your local library? Are you happy with their availability?

***

Hmm, what to talk about….I got three amazing books from Vine this week, and I am so excited about them all!

 

Someone is Watching, by Joy Fielding, is one I’m eager to read….and I have been a fan of this author for a long time.

 

 

22694047

Here’s a blurb that teases:  As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she’s unable to venture beyond her front door without panicking. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people’s lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome guy across the street—until she realizes that he is also watching her. Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.

***

For the rest of my books received, check out My Weekly Updates.

***

What I hope to get soon:  The Children’s Crusade, by Ann Packer, is definitely on my wish list.

 

 

91ehkFrLNxL._SL1500_

 

 

Bill Blair finds the land by accident, three wooded acres in a rustic community south of San Francisco. The year is 1954, long before anyone will call this area Silicon Valley. Struck by a vision of the family he has yet to create, Bill buys the property on a whim. In Penny Greenway he finds a suitable wife, a woman whose yearning attitude toward life seems compelling and answerable, and they marry and have four children. Yet Penny is a mercurial housewife, at a time when women chafed at the conventions imposed on them. She finds salvation in art, but the cost is high.

Thirty years later, the three oldest Blair children, adults now and still living near the family home, are disrupted by the return of the youngest, whose sudden presence and all-too-familiar troubles force a reckoning with who they are, separately and together, and set off a struggle over the family’s future. One by one, the siblings take turns telling the story—Robert, a doctor like their father; Rebecca, a psychiatrist; Ryan, a schoolteacher; and James, the malcontent, the problem child, the only one who hasn’t settled down—their narratives interwoven with portraits of the family at crucial points in their history.

***

I love the sound of this one!

***

I also love our neighborhood library, and sadly, I have not visited like I should.  I need to spend more time there…it is a lovely space, and close by.

I had some photos of it…but I don’t remember where I filed them.  My photo files are extensive, and while many are on Dropbox, I have been less than compulsive in my labeling of them.

Something to work on in Bloggiesta?

Here’s a photo of the library in the adjacent village, where I once lived, a place I enjoyed visiting:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And here is its exterior:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

What an odd assortment of topics I have presented today!  What I’m reading now:

 

The First Wife, by Erica Spindler

 

 

81bLLxwJd0L._SL1500_

 

As a child, Bailey Browne dreamed of a knight in shining armor swooping in to rescue her and her mother. As she grows older, those dreams transform, becoming ones of a mysterious stranger who will sweep her off her feet and whisk her away from her ordinary existence. Then, suddenly, there he is. Despite the ten year difference in their ages, her working class upbringing and his of privilege, Logan Abbott and Bailey fall deeply in love. Marriage quickly follows.
But when Logan brings her home to his horse farm in Louisiana, a magnificent estate on ninety wooded acres, her dreams of happily-ever-after begin to unravel. A tragic family history she knew nothing about surfaces, plus whisperings about the disappearance of his first wife, True, and rumors about the women from the area who have gone missing–and when another woman disappears, all signs point to her husband’s involvement.
At first Bailey ignores the whispers, even circumstantial evidence against Logan mounts. But finally, Bailey must make a choice: believe what everyone says–or bet her life on the man she loves, but is realizing she hardly knows.

***

So this is my odd potpourri of bookish choices and topics today!  What are you musing about?

***

16 thoughts on “BLUE MONDAYS: A POTPOURRI OF MUSINGS….

  1. You know what, reading your post makes me realize that I don’t have a single picture of a library! I think I don’t even remember to take pictures once I see books! But I am so going to go and take a picture of my local library. Such a wonderful place it is.

    Like

  2. I used to feel the same about Mondays when I worked full-time. I fell into a melancholy (not quite depression) mid Sunday afternoon, in the knowledge that Monday and work was almost upon me!

    I made a seachange over 2 years ago, and – although I’m struggling a little financially – I’m happier than ever!

    Deb

    Like

  3. like the sound of all those books – have noted them in my ever growing list:) since I retired Mondays no longer bother me – no days really – trouble is without the structure of a ‘working’ week I tend to lose track of what day it actually is!:)

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

