FRIDAY FUN: BOOK BEGINNINGS/FRIDAY 56 – “SOMEONE IS WATCHING”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAfriday 56 - spring and summer logo

Welcome to some bookish fun today as we share Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and as we showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

If you have been wanting to participate, but haven’t yet tried, now is the time!

What better way to spend a Friday?

Today I am featuring an ARC from Amazon Vine:  Someone Is Watching, by Joy Fielding, one of my favorite authors from way back in the day.

22694047

Beginning:  The day starts the same way it usually does.  Just another monotonously gorgeous October day in Miami, the sky typically blue and cloudless, the temperature expected to reach eighty degrees by noon.  There is nothing to suggest that today will vary significantly from yesterday or the day before that, nothing to suggest that today, or more specifically tonight, will change my life forever.

***

56:  (Jade speaking) “Can I go watch TV?”

“No,” Claire says, then changes her mind:  “Yes.  Go. By all means, go watch TV.”

Jade takes off down the hall.  Seconds later, we hear the television blaring.

“I’m really sorry,” Claire begins.

“It’s okay.”

“It’s not okay.  I didn’t come here to upset you.”

“Why are you here?”  I ask.

***

Blurb:  A pulse-pounding thriller perfect for fans of Lisa Gardner and Mary Higgins Clark with a sly nod toward Alfred Hitchcock’s classic film Rear Window, Someone Is Watching boasts the extraordinary edge-of-your-seat storytelling of bestselling author Joy Fielding at the height of her powers.
 
As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

***

What do you think?  Does it pique your interest?  What are you sharing today?

***

38 thoughts on “FRIDAY FUN: BOOK BEGINNINGS/FRIDAY 56 – “SOMEONE IS WATCHING”

  1. I don’t get thriller from either of the snippets but do get it from the cover, oddly enough. Plus the titles helps aid the thriller part. I hope you enjoy it, I do love a good thriller!
    I added you to the Linky!
    Happy weekend!

    Like

  2. I’m about 90% sure I’ve read Joy Fielding before but for the life of me I can’t remember what the book was. I’ll have to go check it out because my first thought when I saw the author of your book was “Oh she’s really good!” I love both excerpts. I’ll definitely have to add this one to the TBR.

    Like

    • Thanks, Katherine, and she has a whole slew of books to her credit…I loved her earlier ones a lot…and then there were a few that I didn’t love as much. But I think this one will break that streak.

      Like

  3. I would keep reading! Sounds good.
    I used to read every single Joy Fielding book when she first started writing, and I highly recommend her early books: See Jane Run, The First Time, Don’t Cry Now, Missing Pieces, Kiss Mommy Goodbye, The Deep End, Tell Me No Lies… I just looked these up on Goodreads for you –You’re welcome 🙂

    I loved her style and then something happened and I felt like she stumbled and I stopped reading her after a few “clunker” novels (a la Patricia Cornwell, James Patterson, etc in my opinion). I now would like to give her another try. Thinking about her early books makes me smile, so thanks for the reminder.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

