MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: RECREATING MY OFFICE SPACE, ETC.

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

 

Good morning!  It is that time in the week when we gather around and compare notes on our thoughts, both bookish and not so bookish.  Join Christine over at Bookishly Boisterous to see what others are chatting about.

Yesterday I posted about some changes in my office, at My Interior World:  Echoes of the Past.

I took down a basket full of mementos and started sorting…and came up with some intriguing things.  Here’s the office with that basket; I marked it with a black square.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

With the basket gone, I shuffled some things around and came up with this new look for my office space.  Yes, I’m sure it is still way too cluttered for most people, but this is one room in which I love to feel “surrounded” by cozy things.  Here is the desk area up close, and the wall area behind it.  I do have some family photos…and some quirky things, like that wicker thing with mementos tucked inside.  I am a fan of mementos.  LOL.  That particular “cozy” holds a back stage pass to a show hosted by Dick Clark, during the time my son was his CFO; a sign from BEA when I signed copies of my book Chasing Stardust; an “editor” pin from the time that I edited a newsletter for divorced people; and a stub from Chippendale’s, in Las Vegas.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Close-up of the wicker cozy:

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

 

 

Here’s a view from the door, in which you can glimpse the couch, a bookcase, the TV, and the edge of another bookcase…and lots of framed photos layered on the walls.  I still like that look for this room.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

Here’s a view of the right side of the room:  a bookcase;  a table behind it with the printer, etc.; and more stuff on the walls, including a bulletin board, calendar, and some awards.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And finally, another view of my nook, which I have purged a few times.  I took more books off the filing cabinet and added some new things on the wall and atop the filing cabinet.

 

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

I have also been doing some reading this week.  I finished three review books, and now I am reading (and loving) A Spool of Blue Thread, by Anne Tyler.

 

 

816WoolEnHL._SL1500_

 

“It was a beautiful, breezy, yellow-and-green afternoon. . .” This is how Abby Whitshank always begins the story of how she fell in love with Red that day in July 1959. The Whitshanks are one of those families that radiate togetherness: an indefinable, enviable kind of specialness. But they are also like all families, in that the stories they tell themselves reveal only part of the picture. Abby and Red and their four grown children have accumulated not only tender moments, laughter, and celebrations, but also jealousies, disappointments, and carefully guarded secrets. From Red’s father and mother, newly arrived in Baltimore in the 1920s, to Abby and Red’s grandchildren carrying the family legacy boisterously into the twenty-first century, here are four generations of Whitshanks, their lives unfolding in and around the sprawling, lovingly worn Baltimore house that has always been their anchor.

Brimming with all the insight, humor, and generosity of spirit that are the hallmarks of Anne Tyler’s work, A Spool of Blue Thread tells a poignant yet unsentimental story in praise of family in all its emotional complexity. It is a novel to cherish.

 

***

I am loving it!  It has wrapped itself around me with a squeeze that feels good, even as it hurts.  There is joy and pain, loss and the accumulation of wonderful moments.  Unforgettable!

What are your bookish/not so bookish thoughts today? 

***

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

16 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: RECREATING MY OFFICE SPACE, ETC.

  1. A Spool of Blue Thread received some less than glowing reviews from bloggers I read when first released, and I wonder if it is an age “thing”. I feel that I would love this story, and having read the quirky works of the novelist before, I know vaguely how it will be written. So, bravo for a good review and I will be looking forward to getting it and reading it.

    Re: your work space; I’m like you! I have little mementos and feel-good items crowding my desk and bookcase next to my desk. It’s just how I am. I like to see items from my past that mean something to me. {I love the idea of your wicker cozy}.
    What good is having mementos if you don’t get to occasionally look at them? Am I saving them for my old age, or my kids? Just my opinion on this 🙂

    Like

    1. Thanks, Rita, and even though I am clearing out and purging many things, I still want to savor a few mementos…and they will mostly be in my office. The space where I spend a lot of time.

      Glad you enjoyed the post…and as for the Anne Tyler book, I think it probably is an age thing, as this author’s quiet moments may not be fast enough or adventurous enough for the young ones…LOL. But these are the kinds of stories I enjoy, in between my thrillers.

      Like

  2. I’m very tempted by The Spool of Blue Thread although this is an author whose books I either love or hate the part of me that needs to acquire books keeps telling me that the blurb suggests this would fall in the ‘love’ pile. I’ll be looking out for your review of this one to help me make up my mind.

    Like

  3. There’s something so satisfying about rearranging things! I should do it more often. I like what you’ve done with your desk area and the mementos on the wall. I rearranged a few of my shelves in my study the other day – moved all my signed hardcovers to one shelf (even though it separated some series) and cleaned and tidied up my collection of illustrated children’s books.) I’ve still got a long way to go – the study is a mess – but it’s a start!

    Like

  4. I did some major rearranging and purging about two years ago in anticipation of my daughter’s wedding. Things have become a bit cluttered. We will need to do some baby proofing now that our grandson is crawling, so I am sure more rearranging and purging will be accomplished.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

