MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: READING & RELAXING

picmonkey-collage-textured

 

Welcome to our Bookish & Not So Bookish Thoughts, hosted by Christine, at Bookishly Boisterous.

Today is Spa Day again, although this time, I am just getting hair and nails done.

 

 

beautician bear

I am wondering if I should change up my nail color…I have had these dark shades of navy blue forever!

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I cannot imagine them in pastels, though; those colors do not feel like me.  Red?  Maybe just a variation of the dark shades.  Off to check out the possibilities before I head over.

***

This week has brought more purges, but nothing overwhelming.  A few stacks of magazines made it to the recycling bin…I like saving some favorites for a while, but when they start to pile up, and they threaten to topple, well….that’s it.

I rearranged some more of my figurines on the bookshelves…keeping the arrangements small, but changing them up a bit.

 

 

photo - may 13 - new arrangements

***

Now, for the books….I am reading the Kellerman book, Guilt, and it is pretty interesting, but it is not keeping me up at night, which is a bad sign for a mystery.  But I will plug away.

 

 

51HGWQcC0kL

 

I’m taking Pippa, my Kindle, to the salon….where I have a whole library of books to choose from….

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

I’m thinking of starting Little Black Lies, by Sandra Block

 

 

91eAriGO3FL._SL1500_

 

She helps people conquer their demons. But she has a few of her own…

In the halls of the psychiatric ward, Dr. Zoe Goldman is a resident in training, dedicated to helping troubled patients. However, she has plenty of baggage of her own. When Zoe becomes obsessed with questions about her own mother’s death, the truth remains tauntingly out of reach, locked away within her nightmares of an uncontrollable fire. And as her adoptive mother loses her memory to dementia, the time to find the answers is running out.

As Zoe digs deeper, she realizes that the danger is not just in her dreams but is now close at hand. And she has no choice but to face what terrifies her the most. Because what she can’t remember just might kill her.

Little Black Lies is about madness and memory – and the dangerous, little lies we tell ourselves just to survive.

***

After the salon, I’ll be hanging out with Noah at his house, and if he is true to form, he will be glued to his video games..so I can read.

How has your day been shaping up?  Your week?

***

10 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: READING & RELAXING

    • I went with blue, Pat, but it was darker than I expected, so it doesn’t seem that different from my navy blue. Thanks for stopping by, and I just started Black Lies, but enjoying it so far.

      Like

  1. I am OBSESSED with nail polish. I used to be a red-only wearer but now I switch every couple of days between blues, greens, corals, reds, grey, navy, silver… pretty much everything except pink or purple. It was weird at first not seeing the same red but became accustomed to it by going nail polish shopping!

    Like

    • I was all about the reds when I was younger…and lately, it has been anything dark, from purple to navy blue and in between. I enjoy nail polish, too, especially if someone else puts it on! LOL Thanks for stopping by, Kate.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

