MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: SAYING GOODBYE!

picmonkey-collage-textured

Welcome!  It is Thursday, and that means we should check in over at Bookishly Boisterous, and then share a few tidbits about our Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts.

Last night, while I was propped up in bed with all the pillows and cushions available, I was reading.  But I kept getting distracted as I studied the room.  Yes, my bookish and cozy room that has been under fire lately.

There once were five bookshelves stuffed with books…and I started whittling away at them, removing shelves until there were four left. 

Suddenly I found myself out of that cozy bed and tossing books into a basket to carry them to the garage donation shelf (one of the empty shelves that now lives there!).

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And now there is another empty shelf…on the other side of the garage.  And here are some views of what my room looks like now. (Below).  There was another full shelf where you now see the exercise bike and the stack of boxes under Minnie Mouse.  Before, the exercise bike was right next to my bed and I stumbled over it regularly…LOL.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a close-up of the bike and the remaining shelf.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And a view of the other shelves. (Below):  Number Two Shelf Remaining.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Below:  Shelf Number Three:  And I had that fan blowing the whole time, as I was SWEATING like crazy.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

Of course, I could not go to sleep!  And I had to take two pills for my sore muscles…LOL.

I watched Hot in Cleveland, with the story of how the show came to pass, and some of the actors’ favorite moments while filming.  I am going to miss that show!  Series finale is next week.

***

Then I continued reading Daughters-in-Law, by Joanna Trollope, another fun family story that peeks behind the facades….

 

 

9293224

 

***

I have loved reading two other books this week, too; The Liar, by Nora Roberts, and The Hypnotist’s Love Story, by Liane Moriarty. (Click for my reviews).

***

Mini-Bloggiesta is coming in June (13th and 14th)…and I’ll be participating.  I love these events, as they give me the opportunity to play with one or more of my blogs.

What has your week brought for you?  I hope you’ll come on by and share….

***

16 thoughts on “MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: SAYING GOODBYE!

  1. Nice that you are downsizing bookshelves in the rooms. Almost all my books are in the basement, with a humidifier on. Not the best place, but what to do…..?

    Like

    • I don’t have a basement…my garage is not so great, either, as it is very hot in there. But the books will go to the library soon. Thanks for stopping by, Harvee. I think I’m obsessed with this purging!

      Like

  2. Okay Laurel, don’t scare us, lol! Thought you were saying goodbye to blogging….bad enough to say goodbye to your books, but think of the pleasure you will bring to someone else who gets to read them now. I purged all my print (fiction, not reference) books except a select few. I had hung onto the hopes of a separate library reading room for myself for ages and I had to admit it wasn’t happening. Instead I have a bookcase cluttering my dining room and another in my exercise loft as we don’t have the wall space in my living room or bedroom.
    I like to see photos of your rooms so keep them coming!

    Like

    • I like being surrounded by books, but I had too many! So I am happy to be slowly taking them away.

      Most of my new books are now on Kindle, and who do those hurt? LOL They don’t take up space.

      Thanks for stopping by, Rita, and I am glad you enjoyed the photos. I can’t imagine saying goodbye to blogging, so no worries!

      Like

  3. I use my extra books as party favors. It was so popular that other friends began to ask me to bring the basket of books to their parties too. I feel like the e-reader makes the extra book issue (if you don’t get a lot of paper books) much less of an issue.

    Like

    • Great idea about party favors….thanks! And yes, the e-reader makes it almost a non-issue, since once I’ve finished an e-book, I send it to the cloud. Thanks for stopping by, Steph.

      Like

  4. That’s happened to me before, jumping out of bed to do some household task. Your room is looking good, and people will appreciate the books you donate. I can’t imagine how you fit even more bookcases in there.

    Like

    • Oh, the bookcases literally lined the walls, Elizabeth. For a while, I felt all cozy…and then I started to get claustrophobia…LOL.

      I like it better now…not minimalist, but not verging on Hoarder Territory.

      Like

    • No, Patty…I was surprised that I didn’t have second thoughts, but when I looked at them, I thought: Yes, that was fun, but I’m done. LOL

      Today I put them in the trunk of the car…next stop, the library.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

