BLUE MONDAYS NO MORE: MUSING ABOUT BOOKS

blue-monday-logo

Welcome to another Monday of Chasing Away the Blues.  Check out A Daily Rhythm, to see what others are musing about.  Here are some prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Have you ever made a new friend because of a book? (or books)?

***

Currently, I am reading The Wrong Man, by Kate White, and I am rapidly turning pages to see what will happen next.

 

 

24570453

 

She wanted to be more daring, but one small risk is about to cost her everything—maybe even her life.

Bold and adventurous in her work as owner of one of Manhattan’s boutique interior design firms, Kit Finn couldn’t be tamer in her personal life. While on vacation in the Florida Keys, Kit resolves to do something risky for once. When she literally bumps into a charming stranger at her hotel, she decides to make good on her promise and act on her attraction. But back in New York, when Kit arrives at his luxury apartment ready to pick up where they left off in the Keys, she doesn’t recognize the man standing on the other side of the door. Was this a cruel joke or part of something truly sinister? Kit soon realizes that she’s been thrown into a treacherous plot, which is both deeper and deadlier than she could have ever imagined. Now the only way to protect herself, her business, and the people she loves is to find out the true identity of the man who has turned her life upside down. Adrenaline-charged and filled with harrowing twists at every turn, The Wrong Man will keep readers riveted until the final page.

***

I am excited about a book I just downloaded from NetGalley.  Pretending to Dance, by Diane Chamberlain, has been on my wish list, and now I have it!  It will be released on Oct. 6, 2015.

 

 

71RkfF1twKL._SL1500_

 

 

Molly Arnette is very good at keeping secrets. She lives in San Diego with a husband she adores, and they are trying to adopt a baby because they can’t have a child on their own. But the process of adoption brings to light many questions about Molly’s past and her family-the family she left behind in North Carolina twenty years before. The mother she says is dead but who is very much alive. The father she adored and whose death sent her running from the small community of Morrison’s Ridge. Her own birth mother whose mysterious presence in her family raised so many issues that came to a head. The summer of twenty years ago changed everything for Molly and as the past weaves together with the present story, Molly discovers that she learned to lie in the very family that taught her about pretending. If she learns the truth about her beloved father’s death, can she find peace in the present to claim the life she really wants?

***

As for the question posed above, I do recall forging a tight friendship in middle school with a girl who had many Nancy Drew mysteries.  How could I resist?

***

What are you musing about today?  I have been missing from blog events lately due to my house guests.  My son and DIL from Berlin have been here since early July, and are still here, but we are finding a way to coordinate activities.

***

10 thoughts on “BLUE MONDAYS NO MORE: MUSING ABOUT BOOKS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

