CHASING AWAY THE BLUES…AGAIN!

blue-monday-logo

Welcome to my Blue Mondays Musings Post.  Check in at A Daily Rhythm to see what others are musing about.  Here are Jen’s topics:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Have you ever won a copy of a book (other than for review)? What was the book, and what were the circumstances?

***

First…I am reading a short novel (178 pages) by Richard YatesCold Spring Harbor. In this classic novel Richard Yates, hailed as a preeminent chronicler of the American condition and author of the acclaimed Revolutionary Road, weaves a masterful, unflinching tale of two families brought together by chance, desperation, and desire.   I loved Revolutionary Road, both the book and the movie.  I also loved The Easter Parade and Disturbing the Peace All of Yates’s books make me stop and think…and then I remember them long after finishing.

Have you read an author whose work is so memorable you can’t stop thinking about it?

 

 

1461816

 

***

I just downloaded a copy of Who Do You Love?, by Jennifer Weiner.  Her books are some of my favorites, too, although some are better than others.

 

 

25205422

What are you reading, pining after, or thinking about today?

***

10 thoughts on “CHASING AWAY THE BLUES…AGAIN!

    1. Oh, I hope you do, Izabel…his books are quiet but insightful stories that always resonate with me, especially since they are mostly set in the 1950s and 60s…or even before. A time that is meaningful for our society. Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I am reading Th Wrong Girl by Laura Wilson, and its odd. I cant yet connect with the characters, but at the same time these characters are messed up so I dont think i’m supposed to connect with them. Thhyre kind of all unlikeable?

    Like

    1. I am curious about The Wrong Girl…and you are right; the messed up characters are usually pretty unlikeable, but it’s like watching a train wreck. You have to keep looking! Thanks for stopping by, Sydney.

      Like

  2. The Cue Card

    I recall Ishiguro’s novel “Never Let Me Go” being an eery memorable book to me. And the movie as well. Sad and creepy too.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

