CHASING DOWN OLD FAVORITES: MUSINGS

blue-monday-logo

It’s Monday!  Time to chase away the blues again…and Jen, at A Daily Rhythm has given us some topics to explore.

 

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What is your favorite book? (or, one of your favorites!)

***

Last week, I blogged about a variety of topics, but here is a sample:

Saying Goodbye Once Again: Another Blog Bites the Dust

picmonkey-collage-choc-mim

 

Excerpt:

Yes, it was only a matter of time until this little blog bit the dust.

While I loved the premise and had fun posting about my guilty pleasures, I finally decided that I could do that just fine on another of my blogs:  Potpourri.

So now there will be a regular “guilty pleasures” feature at that site…and I have whittled my blog count down to SEVEN!

As I scrolled through the pages and posts at my now defunct site, I considered moving several of those posts over…but then ruled that one out.  I could recreate some of them.  And I will.

I am probably one of the few bloggers who has “gone wild” with the whole blogging thing, having as many as 20 blogs at one point…for about five minutes.

My steadiest number was eleven blogs, then nine, and now seven.

***

Next on my reading list is a book from one of my new favorite authors, Dorothea Benton Frank:  The Hurricane Sisters.

 

 

81dcw+2rmXL._SL1500_

 

Once again Dorothea Benton Frank takes us deep into the heart of her magical South Carolina Lowcountry on a tumultuous journey filled with longings, disappointments, and, finally, a road toward happiness that is hard earned. There we meet three generations of women buried in secrets. The determined matriarch, Maisie Pringle, at eighty, is a force to be reckoned with because she will have the final word on everything, especially when she’s dead wrong. Her daughter, Liz, is caught up in the classic maelstrom of being middle-age and in an emotionally demanding career that will eventually open all their eyes to a terrible truth. And Liz’s beautiful twenty-something daughter, Ashley, whose dreamy ambitions of her unlikely future keeps them all at odds….

Frank, with her hallmark scintillating wit and crisp insight, captures how a complex family of disparate characters and their close friends can overcome anything through the power of love and reconciliation. This is the often hilarious, sometimes sobering, but always entertaining story of how these unforgettable women became The Hurricane Sisters.

***

I love complex family stories that carry us through the generations, and just like a real family, Frank’s characters are full of secrets.  Can’t wait!

***

I couldn’t answer the question…as how can I choose one favorite book?  I could probably name a few favorites that I have enjoyed at different times in my life.

As a teenager, I loved Gone with the Wind and Rebecca.

When I was struggling through my twenties, I loved anything by Erica Jong.  Fear of Flying felt reckless and fun.  Marge Piercy was another favorite author, with her Small Changes and Fly Away Home.

While raising my children, I loved family stories that made me connect to the characters who were also struggling with family issues:  books by Barbara Delinsky and Nancy Thayer.

And now, in my “twilight years,”—oh, I cringe at that phrase!—I probably love looking back at the phases of my life and enjoying books that remind me of past loves and the challenges that I won.  But most of all, I love mysteries and thrillers, like the books by Sophie Hannah, Laura Lippman, Karen White, and Julia Heaberlin, to name a few.

 

What about you?  Do you have favorites, or do you, too, find it hard to choose?

***

10 thoughts on “CHASING DOWN OLD FAVORITES: MUSINGS

  1. It’s interesting looking back at your favourite books over the years – I was a huge fan of the bonkbusters which were huge as I was a teenager in the 80s but I doubt whether I’d chose to read anything like this now. The Hurricane Sisters sounds great, I love these family sagas complete with secrets too.

    Like

  2. 7 blogs sounds like a lot. I still have my hands full with one. Your blogs are always colorful and fun though. So I can see why you like having multiple venues. Cheers.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

