BOOKSHELF CLEARING: A SENTIMENTAL JOURNEY

blue-monday-logo

Welcome to another Monday of Chasing Away the Blues.  Today’s post is linked to Jen, at A Daily Rhythm, and we are musing about some topics she has selected.

Here they are:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: What books about books do you own, or have you read & enjoyed?

***

I am going with the random question today.  Yesterday, I was clearing out my overstuffed bookshelf in the living room:  the one that goes from floor to ceiling.

While deciding what to keep and what to give away, I stumbled upon my copy of The Jane Austen Book Club (click for my review), and my mind catapulted back in time, when I found the book in a real bookstore.  Yes, imagine that!

I decided to keep this book, of course, not necessarily because I’ll reread it, but it holds such special memories for me.  I also have the movie!

 

photo(1)

 

***

Here are my bookshelves, before and after my purge (I had already purged that top shelf of books earlier in the month):

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And now, drum roll!  After the purge.  I eliminated FIFTY-SIX books.  Did I cut too much?  Go too far?  Only time will tell.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

***

What are you musing about today?  Come on by and share!

***

6 thoughts on “BOOKSHELF CLEARING: A SENTIMENTAL JOURNEY

  1. Oh, I love the movie of The Jane Austen Book Club. It’s one of those that I wasn’t as a big a fan of the book, but I read it after the movie and that’s the way sometimes. I need to watch that movie again soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m actually quite bad when it comes to purging my bookshelves. I move them to boxes and put them in storage and it’s sort of like out of sight, out of mind and I subconsciously feel like it’s okay to buy another book… yeah…. I have to work on that!

    Like

    • Ha-ha…it would be tempting to do that, except my only storage is my garage and I finally have the bins under control. Now my car is full of the books I purged above, and a few more. Taking a trip to the library. Thanks for visiting, Sydney.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

