BOOKISH FRIDAY: EXCERPTING “THE GIRL WITH NO PAST”

BOOKISH FRIDAY LOGO

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

In last week’s Bookish Friday, I enjoyed excerpting “The Accident Season.”

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What better way to spend a Friday!

Today’s featured book is a recent download from an author I’m eagerly anticipating: The Girl with No Past, by Kathryn Croft.

 

 

 

26158341

 

Book Beginnings:  (Prologue)

Everything is silent and for a second I think I must be dead.  But then I hear a deafening screech and I don’t know who or where it’s come from, I only know I haven’t made the noise because somehow I am okay.  I want to turn my head to check what’s left of the wreckage, but I can’t move because pain is shooting through my neck, warm blood trickling down my face.

***

56:  At least I had my laptop; a link to the outside world that I could control.  With it I could decide whom to let into my life, and right at that moment I wanted to let Julian in.

***

Blurb:  A gripping psychological thriller for fans of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train.

Leah Mills lives a life of a fugitive – kept on the run by one terrible day from her past. It is a lonely life, without a social life or friends until – longing for a connection – she meets Julian. For the first time she dares to believe she can live a normal life.

Then, on the fourteenth anniversary of that day, she receives a card. Someone knows the truth about what happened. Someone who won’t stop until they’ve destroyed the life Leah has created.

But is Leah all she seems? Or does she deserve everything she gets?

Everyone has secrets. But some are deadly.

***

Does this one grab you?  Grip you?  I know I’m eager to plunge into it.

***

Advertisements

46 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: EXCERPTING “THE GIRL WITH NO PAST”

  1. Ooh this sounds very exciting! I love how the opening reveals little tidbits of information until by the end of the paragraph you have an idea of what’s maybe going on! And the F56 makes you feel like something else is happening. I haven’t read The Girl on the Train but Gone Girl is right up my alley, so maybe I should check this one out! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

  2. Pingback: BOOKISH FRIDAY: “REMEMBER MIA” | RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s