RAINY DAY READING CAN BE RESTLESS READING

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Good morning, and welcome to another day of Rainy Day Reading.  It is the morning after a restless reading night.  Perhaps I could sense the rain coming…or maybe it was the weather man’s prediction that tipped me off.  LOL.

In any case, I was flipping between books, having trouble settling on any one book.  I had been reading Gloria Steinem’s Life on the Road yesterday…and I’m halfway through it.  I’m enjoying it, but sometimes I need to break up my nonfiction with a little make-believe.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

So I found a little book on Pippa that seemed very different from the memoir:  Lucky Us, by Amy Bloom.  I’ve never read Amy, but I’ve heard good things.  Well, it’s not that I didn’t like the book, but I was only a couple chapters in when I set it aside…for later.

 

 

21530231

***

Then…I grabbed Secret Sisters, which I had been planning to read next anyway…and soon I was lost in the pages.  It will definitely be my “other” book for the rest of the week. 

 

 

25194146

 

From the very first page, I felt myself sucked into the world of the characters:  a frightening opener, a mystery, and a secret that has lasted for decades…and now it is coming out!

***

 

To sum up my feeling for the day:  my daughter sent this image to me, and I think it says a lot about me.  What do you think?

 

 

Hippie image

***

8 thoughts on “RAINY DAY READING CAN BE RESTLESS READING

    • It is not letting me down so far, Katherine….and I am also happy that I went to my e-mail and found two more approved books from NetGalley…Yay! Miller’s Valley, by Anna Quindlen, and Multiple Listings, by Tracy McMillan.

      Like

    • Thanks, Kathryn, and the difficulty settling in has been so true for me lately….so I like having two non-similar books on the go right now…It’s about time to go back to the Gloria Steinem book for a while. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

