BOOKISH FRIDAY: “BROOKLYN”

BOOKISH FRIDAY LOGO

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What better way to spend a Friday!

My featured book today is a recent addition to Pippa, my Kindle:  Brooklyn, by Colm Toibin.

 

 

6411014

 

Beginning:  Eilis Lacey, sitting at the window of the upstairs living room in the house on Friary Street, noticed her sister walking briskly from work.  She watched Rose crossing the street from sunlight into shade, carrying the new leather handbag that she had bought in Clerys in Dublin in the sale.

***

56:  Mrs. Kehoe, who owned the house, was from Wexford town and loved to talk to her about home, about Sunday trips to Curracloe and Rosslare Strand, or hurling matches, or the shops along the Main Street in Wexford town, or characters she remembered.

***

Synopsis:   Eilis Lacey has come of age in small-town Ireland in the years following World War Two. Though skilled at bookkeeping, she cannot find a job in the miserable Irish economy. When an Irish priest from Brooklyn to sponsor Eilis in America — to live and work in a Brooklyn neighborhood “just like Ireland” — she decides she must go, leaving her fragile mother and her charismatic sister behind.

Eilis finds work in a department store on Fulton Street, and when she least expects it, finds love. Tony, a blond Italian from a big family, slowly wins her over with patient charm. He takes Eilis to Coney Island and Ebbets Field, and home to dinner in the two-room apartment he shares with his brothers and parents. He talks of having children who are Dodgers fans. But just as Eilis begins to fall in love with Tony, devastating news from Ireland threatens the promise of her future.

By far Tóibín’s most instantly engaging and emotionally resonant novel, Brooklyn will make readers fall in love with his gorgeous writing and spellbinding characters.

***

I am eager to read this one…and I also want to see the movie.  What do you think?  Have you read it?

***

38 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “BROOKLYN”

  1. I didn’t know it was being made into a movie. I heard a lot of good about this author but I haven’t read it yet. I will, though, I have a fondness for Irish authors and Ireland in general 🙂

    Like

  2. Yes, I would read it! I actually had the used paperback from the thrift shop, but the print was crazy tiny in it (major reason I read on a Kindle) so I gave it to my SIL.
    I now want to get another copy or download one very much. Love the movie trailers, love the young female star. I saw her in The Lovely Bones I think. My family is originally from immigrant Irish and German folks from Brooklyn, and I lived there until aged 12, so I have a deep connection to this, even though I was born in a later decade. It will tell my parents’ story though. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    • I love the star of the movie too (which I haven’t seen yet), and I can never pronounce her name. And yes, she was in The Lovely Bones.

      I love all things Irish…I have never been, but my eldest son lived there for a while in the 1990s and has lovely photographs, some of which “live” on my bedroom walls.

      Thanks for stopping by, Rita, and I’m with you on tiny print…I once got a review book in the mail with such tiny print that I had to set it aside unread.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

