RAINY DAY READING: DIPPING INTO ANOTHER THRILLER

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

It’s raining, it’s pouring, the old man is snoring...Oh, yes, it has been raining almost all weekend, and not a gentle sprinkle.  Coming down fairly hard.

So today I’m joining Jenn, at Musing Mondays, to talk books, for my Rainy Day Reading post.

Here are some prompts:

  • I’m currently reading…
  • Up next I think I’ll read…
  • I bought the following book(s) in the past week…
  • I’m super excited to tell you about (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I’m really upset by (book/author/bookish-news)…
  • I can’t wait to get a copy of…
  • I wish I could read ___, but…
  • I blogged about ____ this past week…

THIS WEEK’S RANDOM QUESTION: Which characters (from which book) do you think deserve their own spin-off story? Why?

***

Okay…I took a break to refill my coffee mug…and yes, today I’m drinking out of the one pictured above…and I’m contemplating the topics.

I’ll go with my current read.  I’ve been waiting to start this one, as it’s a NetGalley e-ARC.  No One Knows, by J. T. Ellison, will be released on March 22.

 

 

51+6vC8a5zL._SX329_BO1,204,203,200_

In an obsessive mystery as thrilling as The Girl on the Train and The Husband’s Secret, New York Times bestselling author J.T. Ellison will make you question every twist in her page-turning novel—and wonder which of her vividly drawn characters you should trust.

The day Aubrey Hamilton’s husband is declared dead by the state of Tennessee should bring closure so she can move on with her life. But Aubrey doesn’t want to move on; she wants Josh back. It’s been five years since he disappeared, since their blissfully happy marriage—they were happy, weren’t they?—screeched to a halt and Aubrey became the prime suspect in his disappearance. Five years of emptiness, solitude, loneliness, questions. Why didn’t Josh show up at his friend’s bachelor party? Was he murdered? Did he run away? And now, all this time later, who is the mysterious yet strangely familiar figure suddenly haunting her new life?

In No One Knows, the New York Times bestselling coauthor of the Nicholas Drummond series expertly peels back the layers of a complex woman who is hiding dark secrets beneath her unassuming exterior. This masterful thriller for fans of Gillian Flynn, Liane Moriarty, and Paula Hawkins will pull readers into a you’ll-never-guess merry-go-round of danger and deception. Round and round and round it goes, where it stops…no one knows.

***

I have barely started it, as I was bingeing on House of Cards on Netflix yesterday…and watching favorite TV shows last night.  But so far, I’m loving it.

I always get a little annoyed when a blurb starts out with comparisons to other books.  It feels as though the marketing people are doing a copycat thing that sets people up to be disappointed.

No two books are the same, hopefully…and I am counting on this one to carry its own weight.

***

What are you musing about today?

***

20 thoughts on “RAINY DAY READING: DIPPING INTO ANOTHER THRILLER

  1. I really dislike book comparisons in blurbs because people who for example disliked The Girl on the Train may actually like this one but are deterred due to the blurb. I love mystery novels I’ll have to check this out! Thanks for stopping by! 🙂

    Danica @ A Redheaded Bookworm

    Like

  2. The comparison of every new suspense novel to Gone Girl and TGOTT makes me crazy. It’s not fair to make those comparisons when a book can hold it’s own. I, too, hope this book ends up being fantastic!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I hate comparisons too. Currently I’m reading Into the Dim by Janet B Taylor and it was described as the YA version of Outlander. I’m not sure if its the YA factor thats ruined it or not but its no where near as enjoyable as Outlander. I kind of wish they hadnt made the comparison. It would have been at least tolerable.

    Like

  4. House of Cards has completely thrown me off my reading this last week too. And I agree with you on comparing books to others – it drives me potty – but this does sound good.

    Like

  5. I read JT Ellison’s newsletters every time they come. I’m fairly certain she didn’t come up with the other book comparisons. I think we’re all tired of the blurbs touting the next Gone Girl or The Girl on the Train, or the Girl with the Dragon Tattoo, lol. Okay, the last one was used a few years ago, but it’s all about the girls…
    Anyhow, I can’t wait. I love all her books and this being a stand-alone is exciting because I’m only familiar with her two series. Thanks for a good post.

    Like

    • This was my first book by Ellison, although her name is so familiar, I thought that surely I would have read something of hers. But not according to Goodreads…LOL.

      I LOVED No One Knows!

      Thanks for stopping by, Rita.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

