BOOKISH FRIDAY: “THE TRUTH-TELLER’S LIE”

BOOKISH FRIDAY LOGO

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What better way to spend a Friday!

Today’s featured book is one from a favorite mystery author:  The Truth Teller’s Lie, by Sophie Hannah, is “a superbly creepy, twisty thriller” (The Times (London)) by the internationally best-selling author of The Other Woman’s House and The Wrong Mother…

 

 

truth teller's resized

 

Beginning:  (2006:  Monday, April 3)

I could explain, if you were here to listen.  I am breaking my promise to you, the only one you ever asked me to make.  I’m sure you remember.  There was nothing casual about your voice when you said, “I want you to promise me something.”

***

56:  At no point had she taken a step back into the house.  She stood right on the threshold.  Behind her, in the hall, Simon could see a light-brown ribbed carpet, a red telephone on a wooden table, a scattering of shoes, trainers and boots.

***

Synopsis:  Naomi Jenkins knows all about secrets: three years ago something so terrible happened to her that she’s never told anyone about it. Now, Naomi has another secret: her relationship with the unhappily married Robert Haworth. When Robert vanishes without explanation, Naomi knows he must have come to harm. But the police are less convinced, particularly when Robert’s wife insists he is not missing. In desperation, Naomi decides that if she can’t persuade the detectives that Robert is in danger, she’ll convince them that he is a danger to others. Naomi knows how to describe the actions of a psychopath; all she needs to do is dig up her own traumatic past.

The second book in Sophie Hannah’s beloved Zailer and Waterhouse series, The Truth-Teller’s Lie is a chillingly smart suspense novel sure to appeal to fans of Tess Gerritsen and Gillian Flynn.

***

What do you think?  I am quite hooked on this series, but it’s been a while since I read one of them.

***

 

Advertisements

41 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “THE TRUTH-TELLER’S LIE”

    • Thanks, Katherine, and I almost missed this one, too, but found it somewhat accidentally, when I was checking the author’s works.

      Many of her books have different titles, too, depending on where they were released. Her plots keep me on my toes, but so do the titles themselves, wondering if I’ve read them before.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s