BOOKISH FRIDAY: “WHITE TRASH”

Married to Books-BOOKISH LOGO

Welcome to another Bookish Friday, in which I  share excerpts from books…and connect with other bloggers, who do the same.

Let’s begin the celebration by sharing Book Beginnings, hosted by Rose City Reader; and let’s showcase The Friday 56 with Freda’s Voice.

To join in, just grab a book and share the opening lines…along with any thoughts you wish to give us; then turn to page 56 and excerpt anything on the page.

Then give us the title of the book, so others can add it to their lists!

What a great way to spend a Friday!

My feature today is a nonfiction tome that is getting a lot of buzz.  White Trash, by Nancy Isenberg, is a groundbreaking history of the class system in America, in which the author upends history as we know it by taking on our comforting myths about equality and uncovering the crucial legacy of the ever-present, always embarrassing—if occasionally entertaining—poor white trash.

 

 

27209433

 

Beginning:  (Fables We Forget By)

We know what class is.  Or think we do:  economic stratification created by wealth and privilege.  The problem is that popular American history is most commonly told—dramatized—without much reference to the existence of social classes.  It is as though in separating from Great Britain, the United States somehow magically escaped the bonds of class and derived a higher consciousness of enriched possibility.

***

56:  The poor of colonial America were not just waste people, not simply a folk to be compared to their Old World counterparts.  By reproducing their own kind, they were, to contemporaneous observers, in the process of creating an anomalous new breed of human.  A host of travelers in Carolina in the seventeenth and early eighteenth centuries believed that class structure was tied to geography and rooted in the soil.

***

Synopsis:  “When you turn an election into a three-ring circus, there’s always a chance that the dancing bear will win,” says Isenberg of the political climate surrounding Sarah Palin. And we recognize how right she is today. Yet the voters who boosted Trump all the way to the White House have been a permanent part of our American fabric, argues Isenberg.

The wretched and landless poor have existed from the time of the earliest British colonial settlement to today’s hillbillies. They were alternately known as “waste people,” “offals,” “rubbish,” “lazy lubbers,” and “crackers.” By the 1850s, the downtrodden included so-called “clay eaters” and “sandhillers,” known for prematurely aged children distinguished by their yellowish skin, ragged clothing, and listless minds.

Surveying political rhetoric and policy, popular literature and scientific theories over four hundred years, Isenberg upends assumptions about America’s supposedly class-free society––where liberty and hard work were meant to ensure real social mobility. Poor whites were central to the rise of the Republican Party in the early nineteenth century, and the Civil War itself was fought over class issues nearly as much as it was fought over slavery. Reconstruction pitted poor white trash against newly freed slaves, which factored in the rise of eugenics–-a widely popular movement embraced by Theodore Roosevelt that targeted poor whites for sterilization. These poor were at the heart of New Deal reforms and LBJ’s Great Society; they haunt us in reality TV shows like Here Comes Honey Boo Boo and Duck Dynasty. Marginalized as a class, white trash have always been at or near the center of major political debates over the character of the American identity.
 
We acknowledge racial injustice as an ugly stain on our nation’s history. With Isenberg’s landmark book, we will have to face the truth about the enduring, malevolent nature of class as well.

***

After reading Hillbilly Elegy, and observing some of the recent political events, it is impossible to shrug away what is unpleasant to see.  What do you think?  Would you read more?

***

41 thoughts on “BOOKISH FRIDAY: “WHITE TRASH”

    • Thanks, Stormi, and like much of my recent nonfiction reads, this is one I’ll be reading slowly, a little bit each day….and I hope to learn something. Already I’m amazed at the myths that I’ve had about this country that are being debunked as I read. Enjoy your week!

      Like

  1. I am also not a non-fiction reader; I tend to get bored, and then frustrated, and then give up all together. Not a pleasant combination in my reading world. Hopefully YOU find the read interesting and informative, though!

    Thank you so much for sharing! Here’s my Friday 56 if you’re interested in taking a look. No worries or pressure if you’re not, though! Either way, happy book-ing to you in the near future…and happy Friday! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, that could describe recent election events here…and a result of that feeling is why I grabbed Hillbilly Elegy, and now this one. But I’m reading it in bits and pieces, while also enjoying my fiction books. Thanks for visiting, Lisa.

      Like

    • I’m reading it slowly, a little bit each day. When I started it, I felt a little bogged down by the “textbook” feel of it. So yes, I’ll be alternating between this one and my fiction. Thanks for visiting, Katherine.

      Like

  2. This looks so interesting especially given the times we’re living in. One could almost say the recent election was the revenge of the white trash (I hate to use that term but since the book does I’ll go with it) – I’m sure it’s not as simple as that but it being characterized that way in some places. Anyway looks like a very thought provoking book, with lots to offer- I may have to get it.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I work part time at a bookstore and we haven’t been able to keep enough of either of them on the shelves since the election. I have read a few pages of each to see what all the excitement is about and they both make some valid points. I’ve been considering adding them to my TBR list.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for stopping by, Erica, and I have already read Hillbilly Elegy. This one is going to take longer, as I can only manage bits of it at a time….it reminds me of textbooks I once read…and I don’t want to fall asleep. LOL.

      Like

  4. Great to see some nonfiction in the mix. I love nonfiction, although I tend to promote only the fiction I’m reading.

    We’ve been reading the roman a clef Primary Colors, which is a fictionalized account of President Bill Clinton’s first primary. Interesting to see how things were different before the Internet really took off.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I saw the movie, Primary Colors, with John Travolta, and enjoyed it. Yes, elections are a lot different when you add social media to the mix. Especially when the candidates are tweeting, which seems kind of silly, when you think about it.

      Thanks for stopping by, Roberta…enjoy your reading.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

