HUMP DAY READING: LOVING THE BOOKS!

b-n-on-july-20-logo

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:

Missing, Presumed (e-book), by Susie Steiner, is a “combination of police procedural and an unfolding family drama that continuously twists and turns will work well for fans of Kate Atkinson and Tana French.”Booklist

 

 

29434147

Blurb:  At thirty-nine, Manon Bradshaw is a devoted and respected member of the Cambridgeshire police force, and though she loves her job, what she longs for is a personal life. Single and distant from her family, she wants a husband and children of her own. One night, after yet another disastrous Internet date, she turns on her police radio to help herself fall asleep—and receives an alert that sends her to a puzzling crime scene….

***

This brief teaser tempts me further into a book I’ve been eager to read.  Has anyone read it?  What do you think?

***

JUST FINISHED:

I’ve read and reviewed two books since Sunday, January 1…and the first one was my pick for First Book of the Year:

The Sleeping Beauty Killer (e-book), by Mary Higgins Clark/Alafair Burke (click title for my review).

 

 

29984659

***

The second book has been on Pippa, languishing, since September 2014.  Yay!  It’s finished.

 

Desolation Row (e-book), by Kay Kendall, is Book 1 of the Austin Starr mysteries…and is set in the 1960s. (Click title for review).

 

 

51pdwc4utal

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I just ordered one of Carrie Fisher’s books, a sequel to another that I loved…and which I had somehow missed out on in the past.

The Best Awful is the sequel to Postcards from the Edge...

 

 

the-best-awful

When we left Suzanne Vale at the end of Carrie Fisher’s bestselling Postcards from the Edge, she had survived drug abuse, rehab, and Hollywood celebrity. The Best Awful takes Suzanne back to the edge with a new set of troubles—not the least of which is that her studio executive husband turned out to be gay and has left her for a man.

Lonely for a man herself, Suzanne decides that her medication is cramping her style, and she goes off her meds—with disastrous results. The “manic” side of the illness convinces her it would be a good idea to get a tattoo, cut off her hair, and head to Mexico with a burly ex-con and a stash of OxyContin. As she wakes up in Tijuana, the “depressive” side kicks in, leading Suzanne through a series of surreal psychotic episodes before landing her in a mental hospital. With the help of her movie star mom, a circle of friends, and even her ex-husband, she begins the long journey back to sanity.

The Best Awful is by turns highly comic and darkly tragic, a roller-coaster ride through the dizzying highs and crushing lows of manic depression, delivered with fast and furious wit.

***

I love her books, and have also ordered The Princess Diarist, which I hope to receive on Friday.  What are you reading or thinking about reading?

***

Advertisements

22 thoughts on “HUMP DAY READING: LOVING THE BOOKS!

    • I am enjoying it so far, Kimberly, especially the character named Manon, a female DS near London. Police procedural books set in England are favorites of mine. So far, the pacing is rapid, with short chapters. I love that!

      Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

  1. Firstly, I just realized I wasn’t following you 😛 Rectified that mistake!
    Secondly, seeing Carrie Fisher pulls at my heart and makes me want to read her writing very badly!
    I’ve seen Missing, Presumed around and each time my intrigue grows!
    Thanks for visiting my WWW!
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Faith, and Carrie Fisher is an awesome writer…yes, I still think of her in the present tense.

      My second oldest son lives in LA and works in the movie industry, and he tells me that Carrie had the moniker “script doctor,” as she could fix any script other writers would give her. Of course, she wrote her own, too.

      I thought I had copies of all of her books, but I’ve missed a few.

      I am enjoying Missing, Presumed. Very British! Thanks for stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I had forgotten about it! I was, in light of recent events, studying her book titles…so now I am excited. Although the book is out of stock right now, they promised to send it as soon as possible.

      Thanks for stopping by, Clare…enjoy your reading, too.

      Like

  2. Ooh, I didn’t realise Susie Steiner had a sequel coming out to Missing Presumed – I’ll definitely be looking out for that one. I hope you enjoy the Carrie Fisher book when you get it. I’m currently listening to Wishful Drinking before moving on to Princess Diarist. I hope you have a good reading week.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s