IT’S HUMP DAY: LET’S TALK ABOUT OUR READING….

b-n-on-july-20-logo

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:

Always (e-book), by Sarah Jio (NetGalley – 2/7/17), “A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel.”Booklist

 

 

always

I have been a fan of Jio for years….but it’s been a while since I read her last one.  So I was pleased to find myself caught up immediately into this dual time-line story set in Seattle.  Whenever I have to set it aside to do something else, I miss it.  I can’t wait to get back to it after these little breaks.

***

JUST FINISHED:

The Stepmother (e-book), by Claire Seeber (click title for my review), was a twisty tale with fairytale references.

 

 

the-stepmother

 

***

The Orphan’s Tale, by Pam Jenoff, (click for my review) was a review book from Amazon Vine, set in WW II Germany and France, with a circus as the backdrop…a great way for Jewish people to “hide in plain sight.”

 

 

the-orphans-tale

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

 

Right Behind You (e-book), by Lisa Gardner, will be released on January 31, 2017.

 

 

right-behind-you

 

Synopsis:  Is he a hero?

Eight years ago, Sharlah May Nash’s older brother beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat in order to save both of their lives. Now thirteen years old, Sharlah has finally moved on. About to be adopted by retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his partner, Rainie Conner, Sharlah loves one thing best about her new family: They are all experts on monsters.

Is he a killer?

Then the call comes in. A double murder at a local gas station, followed by reports of an armed suspect shooting his way through the wilds of Oregon. As Quincy and Rainie race to assist, they are forced to confront mounting evidence: The shooter may very well be Sharlah’s older brother, Telly Ray Nash, and it appears his killing spree has only just begun.

All she knows for sure: He’s back.

As the clock winds down on a massive hunt for Telly, Quincy and Rainie must answer two critical questions: Why after eight years has this young man started killing again? And what does this mean for Sharlah? Once upon a time, Sharlah’s big brother saved her life. Now, she has two questions of her own: Is her brother a hero or a killer? And how much will it cost her new family before they learn the final, shattering truth? Because as Sharlah knows all too well, the biggest danger is the one standing right behind you.

***

I love this author’s books, so I am counting the days.  What did your week look like?  What are you waiting for?

***

Advertisements

27 thoughts on “IT’S HUMP DAY: LET’S TALK ABOUT OUR READING….

    • Thanks, Cleo, and I know what you mean about space for another book…I kid myself that when I buy e-books, they are not taking up space. But they hide in plain sight! If I didn’t add my purchases to a page on one of my blogs, I might forget about them indefinitely. Enjoy your reading, and thanks for visiting.

      Like

    • It’s a nice break from my thrillers, and I LOVE the Seattle setting….plus, the writer just wraps me up in a cocoon of good feelings. Coziness, beautiful surroundings, and some sadness, too. Thanks for visiting, Kay…enjoy your reading.

      Like

    • Thanks, Sam, and I don’t particularly care for circus stories, so I almost passed on this one…so glad I didn’t! As it turned out, the circus made the perfect “safe haven” for some of the characters. Thanks for hosting…and for stopping by.

      Like

    • Oh, I can’t wait to read Right Behind You, Emma…I am never disappointed with Lisa Gardner’s books. I hope you do take on The Stepmother…it grabbed me and kept me going all the way through. Thanks for visiting.

      Like

  1. I’m glad to see you ejoyed the Jio. I read one book by her and absolutely loved it – so much so that I’ve been almost afraid to read another one because what if I don’t like it as much! I’m reading A Certain Age by Beatriz Williams and so far enjoying it. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks, Katherine, and I know what you mean about that fear of not loving the others as much. I think I’ve read all of Jio’s books so far….and only one was not loved as much as the others, but was still really enjoyed. Glad you could visit.

      Like

  2. Pingback: WEEKLY UPDATES: UNEXPECTED RAIN DAMAGE…. – RAINY DAYS AND MONDAYS

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s