REVIEW: SECRETS IN SUMMER, BY NANCY THAYER

 

Memorial Day weekend means that seasonal visitors have descended on the glamorous island of Nantucket. For year-round resident Darcy Cotterill, it means late-night stargazing in the backyard of the beautiful house she grew up in and inherited from her beloved grandmother. It’s also Darcy’s chance to hit the beach and meet her new summertime neighbors. But the last person the thirty-year-old librarian expects to see staying next door is her ex-husband, Boyz, along with his wife, Autumn, and stepdaughter, Willow.

Darcy must also navigate the highs and lows of a new romantic relationship with local carpenter Nash Forester even as she becomes smitten with handsome vacationer Clive Rush, a musicologist in town to write a book and visit family. And she finds herself pulled into the concerns of Boyz, Autumn, a charming elderly neighbor, and an at-risk teen.

As the season nears its end, Darcy must decide her next move: retreating to the comforts of her steady and secure island life, or risking it all for a chance at true happiness.


My Thoughts: Swept away by the author’s descriptions of the homes, gardens, people, summer events, and the magic of the island, I savored every page in Secrets in Summer. I felt an immediate connection to Darcy, whose grandmother Penny had raised her, having had a special relationship with my own grandmother. I could understand why she loved the home that had belonged to her, and where she grew up.

I could visualize the backyard gardens that were close together, separated only by hedges, which also lent themselves to unique connections. When Darcy found out that her ex-husband Boyz and his new wife were renting the house next door, I anticipated that there would be awkward moments. And there were, but what I didn’t expect was the relationship that would develop between Darcy and Boyz’s stepdaughter Willow.

In the rental house on the other side of Darcy’s were an elderly woman Mimi and her grandson Clive. Mimi was like a surrogate grandmother, but her vivid personality and her tendency to openly share her thoughts made her a more modern day version of Penny. All the new and old friends shared the delights of the season.

Themes of friendships, even those transitory summer connections, kept me interested throughout, as did the drama from Willow, who turned out to be a more likable teen than we usually see in fiction…or real life. Would Darcy find a permanent love connection with her lover, Nash, or might she choose someone new? A delightful story that made me long to visit Nantucket and find some summer friends that might even last through the seasons. 5 stars.

 ***
11 thoughts on “REVIEW: SECRETS IN SUMMER, BY NANCY THAYER

  1. I am in the mood for beachy reads! This one is on my wishlist. Thayer is hit or miss for me recently. I used to read her way back when, before she wrote beachy books and Christmas books, and was more concentrated on “chick-lit” and women’s fiction. I have read a few of hers in the past five years, so I’ll take my chance on this one. Sounds like it was a winner for you.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for stopping by, Rita, and this book was just what I needed this weekend. I have loved Thayer’s books for years, but haven’t found a connection to the beach reads until this one. Then I realized I have another of hers, unread, which I’m bringing forward. Just in case it is another one I’ll love (The Island House).

      Some of my favorites of hers were books like Custody, which was published in 2001? I still have a copy in my collection.

      Enjoy!

      Like

  2. Love seeing that five star rating. I am actually curious as to how she managed to live next door to her ex without too much drama. I am craving light and fluffy summer reads. I will look this up. Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, yes, there was drama, mostly caused my the arrogant prick that was her ex, but she handled it all very well. I like how his stepdaughter enjoyed spending time with her, and letting her mentor her.

      Thanks for visiting, Heidi.

      Like

    1. Thanks, Kristyn, I have enjoyed this author for many years, and when I immerse myself in another of her books, her descriptions that carry me away to the settings, homes, and people are my favorite parts.

      Like

  3. Pingback: THOUGHTS ON A THURSDAY…. | AN INTERIOR JOURNEY

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

