RAINY DAY EXCERPTS: “THE DATE”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, originally hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea and now hosted by I’d Rather Be at the Beach; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is a recent download:  The Date, by Louise Jensen, a gripping page-turner that will keep you awake until the early hours. Perfect for fans of The Girl on the Train and Before I Go To Sleep.

 

Intro:  Something isn’t right.

I know that as soon as I wake from a thick, muddy sleep.  I know that even before I am aware of the throbbing at my temples.  It’s not the stab of disappointment I get every morning when I realize I’m not in bed with Matt, that I’m no longer living, or welcome, in my own home.  It’s something else.  My head is pounding, thoughts cloudy, and the whole room feels as thought it’s spinning.

Something is wrong.

***

Teaser:  Ben rings me from his car on the way to Edinburgh, the crackle and hiss from his hands-free system making him hard to understand.  I reassure him I am fine, although we both know I’m not, and I promise to call him if I need him (p. 60).

***

Synopsis:  One night can change everything.

‘I know it as soon as I wake up and open my eyes… Something is wrong.’

Her Saturday night started normally. Recently separated from her husband, Ali has been persuaded by her friends to go on a date with a new man. She is ready, she is nervous, she is excited. She is about to take a step into her new future. By Sunday morning, Ali’s life is unrecognisable. She wakes, and she knows that something is wrong. She is home, she is alone, she is hurt and she has no memory of what happened to her.

Worse still, when she looks in the mirror, Ali doesn’t recognise the face staring back at her…

***

I’ve been eager to read this book for a while.  What do you think?  Do you want to know more?

***

Advertisements

28 thoughts on “RAINY DAY EXCERPTS: “THE DATE”

    • Thanks for stopping by, Donna, and I would love to have that cover in a hardbound book! Sadly, I don’t even get to look at it while reading….since I have an e-book. But…I will savor the story.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.