RAINY DAY EXCERPTS: “THE FAMILY AT NO. 13”

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, First Chapter/Intros, originally hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea and now hosted by I’d Rather Be at the Beach; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by The Purple Booker.

Today’s feature is a book I have had for a while:  The Family at No. 13,  by S.D. Monaghan, a twist-filled thriller with an ending that will shock you to the core. Perfect for fans of The Couple Next Door, Lies and Behind Closed Doors.

 

 

 

Intro:  (Connor) (The Day of)

The blood welled up as a desolate cold crept into the wound like a ghost.  Connor stared down at the corpse.  It had a face he recognized; a face he knew too well.  Then he nodded, his shocked body agreeing with his composed mind that—yes, a knife will do this to flesh.   Connor gripped the camouflage-green handle, looked at the steel and then down to the injury as if finding it difficult to believe that this same tool had only moments before knifed spinewards through reefs of ribs.

***

Teaser:  Fergus bristled at the words, the implication that the money he’d made, continued to make and would always make was somehow worthless to Connor.  His eyes had already dried. (p. 67).

***

Synopsis:  Mary has everything. Beautiful and rich, she lives on an exclusive street in the heart of the city, in a house with gorgeous views and an immaculately maintained garden. Her life looks perfect.

But behind closed doors the truth is very different. Her husband Andrew barely speaks to her, spending his days down in the basement alone. Her teenage nephew is full of rage, lashing out with no warning. Her carefully constructed life is beginning to fall apart.

And then someone starts sending Mary anonymous notes, threatening her and her family…

Everyone has secrets. But is someone at number 13 hiding something that could put the whole family in danger?

***

What do you think?  I’m not even sure about this one, but I’m curious.

***

Advertisements

26 thoughts on “RAINY DAY EXCERPTS: “THE FAMILY AT NO. 13”

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.