MY BOOKISH (AND NOT SO BOOKISH) THOUGHTS: SAYING GOODBYE!

picmonkey-collage-textured

Welcome!  It is Thursday, and that means we should check in over at Bookishly Boisterous, and then share a few tidbits about our Bookish and Not So Bookish Thoughts.

Last night, while I was propped up in bed with all the pillows and cushions available, I was reading.  But I kept getting distracted as I studied the room.  Yes, my bookish and cozy room that has been under fire lately.

There once were five bookshelves stuffed with books…and I started whittling away at them, removing shelves until there were four left. 

Suddenly I found myself out of that cozy bed and tossing books into a basket to carry them to the garage donation shelf (one of the empty shelves that now lives there!).

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And now there is another empty shelf…on the other side of the garage.  And here are some views of what my room looks like now. (Below).  There was another full shelf where you now see the exercise bike and the stack of boxes under Minnie Mouse.  Before, the exercise bike was right next to my bed and I stumbled over it regularly…LOL.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Here is a close-up of the bike and the remaining shelf.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

And a view of the other shelves. (Below):  Number Two Shelf Remaining.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Below:  Shelf Number Three:  And I had that fan blowing the whole time, as I was SWEATING like crazy.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

***

Of course, I could not go to sleep!  And I had to take two pills for my sore muscles…LOL.

I watched Hot in Cleveland, with the story of how the show came to pass, and some of the actors’ favorite moments while filming.  I am going to miss that show!  Series finale is next week.

***

Then I continued reading Daughters-in-Law, by Joanna Trollope, another fun family story that peeks behind the facades….

 

 

9293224

 

***

I have loved reading two other books this week, too; The Liar, by Nora Roberts, and The Hypnotist’s Love Story, by Liane Moriarty. (Click for my reviews).

***

Mini-Bloggiesta is coming in June (13th and 14th)…and I’ll be participating.  I love these events, as they give me the opportunity to play with one or more of my blogs.

What has your week brought for you?  I hope you’ll come on by and share….

***

BOOKISH SATURDAY: ADDING TO MY SHELVES!

bookish sat logo

 

Good morning, it’s Bookish Saturday again, and it is time to once again ponder my bookish world, and, as usual, I have been adding books to my shelves.

Just as I was congratulating myself on getting my stack of Vine books down to one book, another one arrived in the mailbox this week.  Where They Found Her, by Kimberly McCreight, had been calling to me from the newsletter, as I had loved the author’s book Reconstructing Amelia.

 

 

22693182

 

An idyllic suburban town.

A devastating discovery.

Shocking revelations that will change three lives forever.

At the end of a long winter in well-to-do Ridgedale, New Jersey, the body of a newborn is found in the woods fringing the campus of the town’s prestigious university. No one knows the identity of the baby, what ended her very short life, or how she came to be found among the fallen leaves. But for the residents of Ridgedale, there is no shortage of opinions.

When freelance journalist and recent Ridgedale transplant Molly Sanderson is unexpectedly called upon to cover the disturbing news for the Ridgedale Reader—the town’s local paper—she has good reason to hesitate. A severe depression followed the loss of her own baby, and this assignment could unearth memories she has tried hard to bury. But the disturbing history Molly uncovers is not her own. Her investigation reveals a decades-old trail of dark secrets hiding behind Ridgedale’s white picket fences.

 

***

Could I be happy with my TWO review books from Vine?  Well, I could, but just out of curiosity, I peeked at the Vine page, just to see what was there…and discovered another one I had to request.  It was one I would have bought anyway, so why not?  Someone Is Watching, by Joy Fielding, is now headed my way!  Mysteries and thrillers seem to call my name!

 

 

22694047

 

As a special investigator for a hotshot Miami law firm, Bailey Carpenter is smart, savvy, and fearless. When she’s assigned to spy on a deadbeat dad in the middle of the night, Bailey thinks nothing of the potential dangers, only that she needs to gather evidence. Then she is blindsided—attacked and nearly killed.

Now the firm grip Bailey once had on her life is shaken. Her nightmares merge into her waking hours and she’s unable to venture beyond her front door without panicking. A veritable prisoner in her own home, Bailey is uncertain whom she can trust. But old habits die hard, and soon Bailey finds a new use for her idle binoculars: casually observing from her window neighboring buildings and other people’s lives. This seemingly harmless diversion becomes a guilty pleasure when Bailey fixates on the handsome guy across the street—until she realizes that he is also watching her. Suddenly she must confront the terrifying possibility that he may be the man who shattered her life.

Though crippled by fear, Bailey knows she can’t ignore her suspicions and risk leaving a predator at large. With the police making no headway in solving her case, she’s determined to overcome her terror and reclaim the power she lost by unmasking her attacker and taking him down herself. But it’s a harrowing battle that threatens to wreck Bailey’s credibility, compromise an investigation, and maybe even claim her sanity.

***

 

And then I have been eyeing this book, Hausfrau, by Jill Alexander Essbaum….the cover is gorgeous, isn’t it?

 

 

81xk8pwLRVL._SL1500_

 

Madame Bovary meets Fifty Shades of Grey.”*
 
Anna was a good wife, mostly. For readers of The Girl on the Train and The Woman Upstairs comes a striking debut novel of marriage, fidelity, sex, and morality, featuring a fascinating heroine who struggles to live a life with meaning—“a modern-day Anna Karenina tale.”**

 

***

Right now, I am reading a Nancy Thayer book, My Dearest Friend, that was first published in 1989, and released on Kindle in 2014.  I am a fan of this author, and the title was not familiar to me….

 

 

81j5-RiAClL._SL1500_

 

At the age of forty-six, Daphne Miller is a first-time homeowner, a divorced college administrator whose daughter has moved in with her father. On a dirt road in the green mountains of southern Vermont, Daphne has at last found a home of her own. It may be tiny, but the rustic cottage is hers, and she’s determined to make it perfect.

Just down the lane, Jack Hamilton and his young family move in. The newly appointed English professor Jack has long dreamed of teaching at his prestigious alma mater, but his wife Carey Ann is terribly unhappy in rural New England. As Daphne takes Carey Ann under her wing, Jack suppresses his growing attraction for his new neighbor and the two become friends. But for Daphne, this increasingly complex friendship brings back the painful memories of a previous betrayal. Now at an unexpected crossroads, Daphne must let go of the woman she has become—and reach out for the woman she longs to be.

***

A nice change from the thrillers I’ve been reading lately!  A cleansing of the palate, if you will.

What does your weekend bookish world look like?

***