BOOKISH WEDNESDAY…

Today I’m participating in WWW Wednesdays, at Taking on a World of Words Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

CURRENTLY READING:

The Safe Place, by Anna Downes

Superbly tense and oozing with atmosphere, Anna Downes’s debut, The Safe Place, is the perfect summer suspense, with the modern gothic feel of Ruth Ware and the morally complex family dynamics of Lisa Jewell.

***

BOOKS FINISHED SINCE MY LAST POST OF 7/14/20:

Nomadland, by Jessica Bruder

***

Too Much and Never Enough, by Mary L. Trump, Ph.D.

 

***

The Girl from Widow Hills, by Megan Miranda

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Lately, I have been scrolling through titles on Amazon, and also keeping an eye out for recommendations from other bloggers…which is why I am now eyeing Imperfect Women, by Araminta Hall, a book to be released on August 4, 2020.  Not long to wait!

Synopsis:  When Nancy Hennessy is murdered, she leaves behind two best friends, an adoring husband and daughter, and a secret lover whose identity she took to the grave. Nancy was gorgeous, wealthy, and cherished by those who knew her—from the outside, her life was perfect. But as the investigation into her death flounders and her friends Eleanor and Mary wrestle with their grief, dark details surface that reveal how little they knew their friend, each other, and maybe even themselves.

A gripping, immersive novel about impossible expectations and secrets that fester and become lethal, Imperfect Women unfolds through the perspectives of three fascinating women. Their enduring, complex friendship is the knot the reader must untangle to answer the question Who killed Nancy?

Imperfect Women explores guilt and retribution, love and betrayal, and the compromises we make that alter our lives irrevocably. With the wickedly sharp insights and finely tuned suspense that has drawn comparisons to Patricia Highsmith and Paula Hawkins, Araminta Hall returns with another page-turning, thought-provoking tour de force.

***

That was my week.  What did your week bring to you?

***

IT’S HUMP DAY! WHAT ARE YOU READING?

Today I’m participating in WWW Wednesdays, at Taking on a World of Words Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

CURRENTLY READING:

The House Guest, by Mark Edwards

“Brilliant, shocking and very creepy. Mark Edwards has done it again.”—Elly Griffiths, bestselling author of the Dr Ruth Galloway series

A perfect summer. A perfect stranger. A perfect nightmare.

***

BOOKS READ SINCE MY LAST POST OF 6/23/20

The Guest List, by Lucy Foley

***

The Golden Cage, by Camilla Lackberg- a NetGalley ARC for a book that will be released on 7/7/20

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

A book that is on its way to my mailbox is from an author I have enjoyed, and it is a book that delves into timely issues.  A story of absolute, universal timelessness …For any era, it’s an accomplished, affecting novel. For this moment, it’s piercing, subtly wending its way toward questions about who we are and who we want to be….” – Entertainment Weekly

The Vanishing Half, by Brit Bennett

Synopsis:  The Vignes twin sisters will always be identical. But after growing up together in a small, southern black community and running away at age sixteen, it’s not just the shape of their daily lives that is different as adults, it’s everything: their families, their communities, their racial identities. Many years later, one sister lives with her black daughter in the same southern town she once tried to escape. The other secretly passes for white, and her white husband knows nothing of her past. Still, even separated by so many miles and just as many lies, the fates of the twins remain intertwined. What will happen to the next generation, when their own daughters’ storylines intersect?

Weaving together multiple strands and generations of this family, from the Deep South to California, from the 1950s to the 1990s, Brit Bennett produces a story that is at once a riveting, emotional family story and a brilliant exploration of the American history of passing. Looking well beyond issues of race, The Vanishing Half considers the lasting influence of the past as it shapes a person’s decisions, desires, and expectations, and explores some of the multiple reasons and realms in which people sometimes feel pulled to live as something other than their origins.

As with her New York Times-bestselling debut The Mothers, Brit Bennett offers an engrossing page-turner about family and relationships that is immersive and provocative, compassionate and wise.

***

I have not read much this past week, but the books I did choose were engaging.  What did your week look like?

***

A HUMP DAY OF READING…

Today I’m participating in WWW Wednesdays, at Taking on a World of Words Here’s how it works:

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

 

CURRENTLY READING: 

The Guest List, by Lucy Foley

A wedding celebration turns dark and deadly in this deliciously wicked and atmospheric thriller reminiscent of Agatha Christie from the New York Times bestselling author of The Hunting Party.

***

BOOKS READ SINCE LAST POST OF 6/16/20:

Pretty Things, by Janelle Brown

***

Swan Song, by Lisa Alther

***

You Can’t Catch Me, by Catherine McKenzie

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

Paris Never Leaves You, by Ellen Feldman (Release Date:  8/4/20)

I have loved many books by this author over the years, so I had to check it out.

Synopsis:  Living through World War II working in a Paris bookstore with her young daughter, Vivi, and fighting for her life, Charlotte is no victim, she is a survivor. But can she survive the next chapter of her life?

Alternating between wartime Paris and 1950s New York publishing, Ellen Feldman’s Paris Never Leaves You is an extraordinary story of resilience, love, and impossible choices, exploring how survival never comes without a cost.

The war is over, but the past is never past.

***

That was my week.  A blissful collection of books.  What did your week look like?

***

IT’S HUMP DAY: LET’S TALK ABOUT OUR READING….

b-n-on-july-20-logo

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:

Always (e-book), by Sarah Jio (NetGalley – 2/7/17), “A heartwarming story of personal growth and the power of nostalgia . . . Fans of Elin Hilderbrand and Emily Giffin should enjoy this warm and compassionate novel.”Booklist

 

 

always

I have been a fan of Jio for years….but it’s been a while since I read her last one.  So I was pleased to find myself caught up immediately into this dual time-line story set in Seattle.  Whenever I have to set it aside to do something else, I miss it.  I can’t wait to get back to it after these little breaks.

***

JUST FINISHED:

The Stepmother (e-book), by Claire Seeber (click title for my review), was a twisty tale with fairytale references.

 

 

the-stepmother

 

***

The Orphan’s Tale, by Pam Jenoff, (click for my review) was a review book from Amazon Vine, set in WW II Germany and France, with a circus as the backdrop…a great way for Jewish people to “hide in plain sight.”

 

 

the-orphans-tale

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

 

Right Behind You (e-book), by Lisa Gardner, will be released on January 31, 2017.

 

 

right-behind-you

 

Synopsis:  Is he a hero?

Eight years ago, Sharlah May Nash’s older brother beat their drunken father to death with a baseball bat in order to save both of their lives. Now thirteen years old, Sharlah has finally moved on. About to be adopted by retired FBI profiler Pierce Quincy and his partner, Rainie Conner, Sharlah loves one thing best about her new family: They are all experts on monsters.

Is he a killer?

Then the call comes in. A double murder at a local gas station, followed by reports of an armed suspect shooting his way through the wilds of Oregon. As Quincy and Rainie race to assist, they are forced to confront mounting evidence: The shooter may very well be Sharlah’s older brother, Telly Ray Nash, and it appears his killing spree has only just begun.

All she knows for sure: He’s back.

As the clock winds down on a massive hunt for Telly, Quincy and Rainie must answer two critical questions: Why after eight years has this young man started killing again? And what does this mean for Sharlah? Once upon a time, Sharlah’s big brother saved her life. Now, she has two questions of her own: Is her brother a hero or a killer? And how much will it cost her new family before they learn the final, shattering truth? Because as Sharlah knows all too well, the biggest danger is the one standing right behind you.

***

I love this author’s books, so I am counting the days.  What did your week look like?  What are you waiting for?

***

HUMP DAY READING: LET’S TALK ABOUT IT!

b-n-on-july-20-logo

Today I’m participating in Sam’s WWW Wednesdays Here’s how it works:

 

The Three Ws are:

What are you currently reading?
What did you recently finish reading?
What do you think you’ll read next, and/or what are you eagerly awaiting?

***

Currently Reading:

The Girl Before (e-book), by J. P. Delaney, (from NetGalley – 1/24/17), In the tradition of The Girl on the Train, The Silent Wife, and Gone Girl comes an enthralling psychological thriller that spins one woman’s seemingly good fortune, and another woman’s mysterious fate, through a kaleidoscope of duplicity, death, and deception.

SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE DIRECTED BY RON HOWARD

(I’ve barely started this one.  I’m eager to find out more).

 

 

 

32054243

***

JUST FINISHED:

The Things We Wish Were True (e-book), by Marybeth M. Whalen (Click title for my review).

 

 

29632984

***

Last Night at the Viper Room (e-book), by Gavin Edwards (click for review).

 

 

81vjhsdsfhl-_sl1500_

***

EAGERLY ANTICIPATING:

I’ve got my eye on this book, just released today, although I haven’t yet downloaded it.  I’m waiting for January 1, as I have bought more than enough books this year…LOL.

The Twilight Wife (e-book), by A. J. Banner, is a dazzling new novel of psychological suspense in the vein of S.J. Watson’s Before I Go to Sleep and Mary Kubica’s The Good Girl that questions just how much we can trust the people around us.

 

 

30243328

 

Thirty-four-year-old marine biologist Kyra Winthrop remembers nothing about the diving accident that left her with a complex form of memory loss. With only brief flashes of the last few years of her life, her world has narrowed to a few close friendships on the island where she lives with her devoted husband, Jacob.

But all is not what it seems. Kyra begins to have visions—or are they memories?—of a rocky marriage, broken promises, and cryptic relationships with the island residents, whom she believes to be her friends.

As Kyra races to uncover her past, the truth becomes a terrifying nightmare. A twisty, immersive thriller, The Twilight Wife will keep readers enthralled through the final, shocking twist.

***

What does your Wednesday reading look like?

***