WAITING ON “STARS OF FORTUNE”

wow logo on march 25

Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday event, hosted by Jill, at Breaking the Spine.

Every week, we gather around the blogosphere and search out the upcoming book releases, sharing our thoughts and blurbs.  Today, I am eager to feature an upcoming release from a favorite author.  I love spotlighting eagerly anticipated books!  

Today’s feature is Book One in a new trilogy from Nora Roberts, The Guardians Trilogy, to be released on November 3, 2015:  Stars of Fortune.

 

 

 

51NybSuMyvL._SX337_BO1,204,203,200_

 

Blurb:  To celebrate the rise of their new queen, three goddesses of the moon created three stars, one of fire, one of ice, one of water. But then they fell from the sky, putting the fate of all worlds in danger. And now three women and three men join forces to pick up the pieces…

Sasha Riggs is a reclusive artist, haunted by dreams and nightmares that she turns into extraordinary paintings. Her visions lead her to the Greek island of Corfu, where five others have been lured to seek the fire star. Sasha recognizes them, because she has drawn them: a magician, an archaeologist, a wanderer, a fighter, a loner. All on a quest. All with secrets.

Sasha is the one who holds them together—the seer. And in the magician, Bran Killian, she sees a man of immense power and compassion. As Sasha struggles with her rare ability, Bran is there to support her, challenge her, and believe in her.

But Sasha and Bran are just two of the six. And they all must all work together as a team to find the fire star in a cradle of land beneath the sea. Over their every attempt at trust, unity, and love, a dark threat looms. And it seeks to corrupt everything that stands in its way of possessing the stars…

***

What do you think?  I love finding a new trilogy, especially when my discovery is Book One.  What do you think?  What are you sharing?

***

I’M NOT BLUE! I’M WAITING FOR “CORRUPTED”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday, our special day for sharing upcoming book releases.  Hop on over to Breaking the Spine to find out what everyone else is excited about.

Today’s featured book is from an author whose books always have me eagerly waiting:  Lisa Scottoline’s newest book, Corrupted (A Rosato & DiNunzio Novel), is coming on October 27, 2015.

 

 

book cover for corrupted

 

 

Blurb:  Bennie Rosato the founder of the Rosato & DiNunzio law firm hides her big heart beneath her tough-as-nails exterior and she doesn’t like to fail. Now, a case from her past shows her how differently things might have turned out. Thirteen years ago, Bennie Rosato took on Jason Leftavick, a twelve-year-old boy who was sent to a juvenile detention center after fighting a class bully. Bennie couldn’t free Jason, and to this day it’s the case that haunts her. Jason has grown up in and out of juvenile prison, and his adulthood hasn’t been any easier. Bennie no longer represents those accused of murder, but when Jason is indicted for killing the same bully he fought with as a kid, she sees no choice but to represent him. She doesn’t know whether or not to believe his claims of innocence, but she knows she owes him for past failures–of the law, of the juvenile justice system, and of herself. Forced to relive the darkest period of her life, Bennie will do everything in her power to get the truth, and justice.

***

What upcoming release are you excited about?  Come on by and let’s chat!

***

THERE ARE NO MORE BLUES WHEN WAITING FOR “X, (KINSEY MILLHONE MYSTERY)”

wow logo on march 25

Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday, our special day for sharing upcoming book releases.  Hop on over to Breaking the Spine to find out what everyone else is excited about.

I am so excited about the upcoming release of Sue Grafton’s new book in the Alphabet Series, and nearing the end of the alphabet, there is more anticipatory glee for us fans.  Guess what the next book will be?    X (Kinsey Millhone Mystery).   Coming on August 25, 2015.

 

 

 

24940998

 

 

Of #1 New York Times–bestselling author Sue Grafton, NPR’s Maureen Corrigan said, “Makes me wish there were more than 26 letters.” With only two letters left, Grafton’s many devoted readers will share that sentiment.

X: 
The number ten. An unknown quantity. A mistake. A cross. A kiss.

X:
 The shortest entry in Webster’s Unabridged. Derived from Greek and Latin and commonly found in science, medicine, and religion. The most graphically dramatic letter. Notoriously tricky to pronounce: think xylophone.

X: 
The twenty-fourth letter in the English alphabet.

Sue Grafton’s X: Perhaps her darkest and most chilling novel, it features a remorseless serial killer who leaves no trace of his crimes. Once again breaking the rules and establishing new paths, Grafton wastes little time identifying this sociopath. The test is whether Kinsey can prove her case against him before she becomes his next victim.

***

I know that I can’t wait!  What are you eagerly awaiting?  Come on by and share!

***

CHASE AWAY YOUR BLUES WITH “THE DAY WE MET”

fiona-in-a-field-of-flowers-framed-text

If books help us chase away the blues, then the Waiting on Wednesday event at Breaking the Spine is our place to go.  There we can find many eagerly anticipated reads, and can add them to our lists.

Today I am excited about an upcoming release by Rowan Coleman, whose books I have enjoyed ever since I started blogging and discovered them.  The Day We Met will be released on March 31, 2015…so not too long to wait!

 

cover photo resized

 

Amazon Description:  For fans of Jojo Moyes’s Me Before You comes a beautifully written, heartwarming novel about mothers and daughters, husbands and wives. The Day We Met asks: Can you love someone you don’t remember falling in love with?

A gorgeous husband, two beautiful children, a job she loves—Claire’s got it all. And then some. But lately, her mother hovers more than a helicopter, her husband Greg seems like a stranger, and her kids are like characters in a movie. Three-year-old Esther’s growing up in the blink of an eye, and twenty-year-old Caitlin, with her jet-black hair and clothes to match, looks like she’s about to join a punk band—and seems to be hiding something. Most concerning, however, is the fact that Claire is losing her memory, including that of the day she met Greg.

When Claire meets a handsome stranger on a rainy day, she starts to wonder if Greg still belongs in her life. She knows she should love him, but she can’t always remember why. When Greg gives her a blank book, Claire fills its pages with private memories and keepsakes, jotting down beginnings and endings and everything in between. The book becomes the story of Claire—her passions, her sorrows, her joys, her adventures in a life that refuses to surrender to a fate worse than dying: disappearing.

***

What do you think?  Would this book be one you could curl up with? Could it chase away your blue days?

***

CHASING AWAY THE BLUES WITH “THE DREAM LOVER”

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Welcome to another Waiting on Wednesday, our special day for sharing upcoming book releases.  Hop on over to Breaking the Spine to find out what everyone else is excited about.

My eagerly anticipated read is the newest tome from a favorite author, Elizabeth Berg, coming on 3/31/15, and instead of writing her usual contemporary fiction, she has taken on a historical figure in The Dream Lover.

 

 

23256785

 

Blurb from Amazon:  New York Times bestselling author Elizabeth Berg has written a lush historical novel based on the sensuous Parisian life of the nineteenth-century writer George Sand—which is perfect for readers of Nancy Horan and Elizabeth Gilbert.
 
At the beginning of this powerful novel, we meet Aurore Dupin as she is leaving her estranged husband, a loveless marriage, and her family’s estate in the French countryside to start a new life in Paris. There, she gives herself a new name—George Sand—and pursues her dream of becoming a writer, embracing an unconventional and even scandalous lifestyle.

Paris in the nineteenth-century comes vividly alive, illuminated by the story of the loves, passions, and fierce struggles of a woman who defied the confines of society. Sand’s many lovers and friends include Frédéric Chopin, Gustave Flaubert, Franz Liszt, Eugène Delacroix, Victor Hugo, Marie Dorval, and Alfred de Musset. As Sand welcomes fame and friendship, she fights to overcome heartbreak and prejudice, failure and loss. Though considered the most gifted genius of her time, she works to reconcile the pain of her childhood, of disturbing relationships with her mother and daughter, and of her intimacies with women and men. Will the life she longs for always be just out of reach—a dream?

Brilliantly written in luminous prose, and with remarkable insights into the heart and mind of a literary force, The Dream Lover tells the unforgettable story of a courageous, irresistible woman.

***

Just reading this blurb excites me, as I can already imagine myself curled up to read, totally immersed in life in 19th Century Paris.

What are you excited about?  Come on by and share, please.

***