TUESDAY INTROS/TEASERS – “SECOND LIFE”

y8ekqo13031746531

 

kitten button

 

Welcome to another Tuesday celebrating bookish events, from Tuesday/First Chapter/Intros, hosted by Bibliophile by the Sea; and Teaser Tuesdays hosted by Should Be Reading.

It’s another happy and bookish day, and my feature is an ARC called Second Life, by S. J. Watson.  I have heard mixed thoughts on this one, probably because of the phenomenal success of the author’s previous book, Before I Go to Sleep.

But I am ready to take a chance.

 

 

23215436

 

 

Intro:  I climb the stairs but the door is closed.  I hesitate outside it.  Now I’m here, I don’t want to go in.  I want to turn round, go home.  Try again later.

But this is my last chance.  The exhibition has been on for weeks and closes tomorrow.  It’s now or never.

I close my eyes and breathe as deeply as I can.  I concentrate on filling my lungs, I straighten my shoulders, I feel the tension in my body evaporate as I breathe out.  I tell myself there’s nothing to be worried about, I come here regularly—to meet friends for lunch, to catch the latest exhibitions, to attend lectures.  This time is no different.  Nothing here can hurt me.  It’s not a trap.

Finally I feel ready.  I push open the door and go in.

***

Teaser:  I sat in the garden for hours that day, my laptop humming in front of me.  I was exploring the site, clicking on profiles, opening photographs. (p. 95).

***

Blurb:   Julia’s life is comfortable, if unremarkable, until her sister’s brutal murder opens old wounds. She finds solace in her sister’s best friend, Sophie, but when Sophie reveals the extent of her sister’s online life, Julia becomes convinced that the truth about her death lies deep in the dark, sordid world of online chatrooms and internet sex.

What begins as Julia’s search for the truth about her sister quickly turns into an exploration of herself and her own desires. After all, the internet is her playground, and why be just one thing when you can be as many as you like? What could possibly go wrong? After all, it’s only cybersex, isn’t it? No one’s going to get hurt.

But then she meets the dark and mysterious Lukas in an online chat room, and things begin to get very dangerous indeed.

***

What do you think?  Do the excerpts grab you?  Make you want to know more?

***

56 thoughts on “TUESDAY INTROS/TEASERS – “SECOND LIFE”

  1. sherry fundin

    Online sex safe? I think she is in for a rude awakening. I’m not sure how I feel about this book, but murder always intrigues me. Thanks for sharing.
    sherry @ fundinmental My TT

    Like

  2. I’ve also seen the mixed reactions, but I’m still intrigued. I really liked his first book, BEFORE I GO TO SLEEP. I have not watched the movie yet and may not. Still considering. Anyway, I’m planning on reading this one.

    Like

  3. I really like how the author builds on the tension within the introduction. Also, I’m not too keen with first person narration, but this one doesn’t feel sloppy, it’s really well written 🙂

    Hope you’re having a lovely week Laurel

    Like

  4. I heard great things about Before I Go to Sleep, so I’d keep reading despite the fact that I didn’t love the writing style in the blurb. The premise sounds a bit like Reconstructing Amelia…at least in the sense that someone’s online life can add so much color to an unexplained tragedy.

    Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.