BEYOND THE BOOKS: COLLECTIONS

bbbbbb-e1433894775409

 

Today I am excited to connect to Kissin’ Blue Karen’s feature, Beyond the Books.  Today’s topic:  I Collect These.

Yes, right up my alley, as one could say, since I have been a collector for a while.  Yes, recently, I have been purging my collections, moving a few things into the bins or the closets.

I love collecting bears, dolls, books, and Disney characters.  Here are some examples of the Disney figurines, mixed in with other collections, including some of my books.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

A close-up of the bottom shelf, and more figurines.  A glimpse of a photo frame that I love, with precious family:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And another:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Across the mantle, some of my favorite fairytale figurines march:

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Boyd’s Bears are some of my collectibles, and front and center here, take note of the bear riding the swan, one of my favorites.  And I love little quirky things, like the large “jack” in front.

To the left of the bear/swan, note the little birdhouse.  Made of Popsicle sticks, and discovered in one of my favorite stores for odds and ends and crafts.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In my bedroom, I have some favorite dolls from Boyd’s, along with a bear tucked away.  Books inhabit this space, too.  On the wall are photos, taken by my eldest son, who spent time in Ireland, among other European countries.  I call these my Ireland collection.  They are all over this room.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

In my office, I created a book nook from an ordinary closet…here are some books, some favorite dolls, and a few awards, etc.  One of the dolls on the right is my “Aubrey doll.”  When my granddaughter Aubrey was a toddler, her parents had the doll created from her photo…in a mall.  But a precious collection, nevertheless.

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I could go on and on…but that’s the tip of the iceberg, anyway.  What are the rest of you spotlighting today?

***

12 thoughts on “BEYOND THE BOOKS: COLLECTIONS

  1. I love your Raggedy Ann! I had a homemade one by a very crafty neighbor. I don’t have any Boyd’s Bears, but some of my snowmen are Folkstone, which is one of their sub-companies. They weren’t big sellers for the company.

    Like

    1. Thanks, Elizabeth…Jim Shore is one of the subsidiaries, too; I think they are all under the Enesco umbrella. I stopped adding to my collections a while ago, and have put some away, too. Less is more, and all…LOL.

      My mother made the Raggedy Ann for my daughter…and I ended up with it, since my daughter is not a collector and isn’t sentimental.

      Like

  2. bluekaren

    I love the Disney figurines! They are so precious. I can’t wait for my babies to grow up a bit so I can have breakables out again.
    Thanks for playing along this week!

    Like

    1. Thanks, Karen, so do I. I found them in a wonderful little shop in the neighborhood mall, which has since gone out of business. You can still find them online under the Enesco umbrella.

      When I was able to have my breakables out, I went a little overboard…LOL. I am enjoying them, even though I am now trying to cut back on which ones I display.

      Thanks for stopping by, and for hosting this event.

      Like

    1. Yes, my love of the Disney figurines started when I stumbled on a great shop nearby. The collections grew.

      I forgot to mention some of my other collections…Like Coca Cola stuff (little things, like knick-knacks, plus furniture). And mugs. I also collect mugs. Love them. I enjoy bringing them back from vacation spots, too.

      Thanks for stopping by, Grace.

      Like

    1. Oh, that is terrible, Kimba….when I left home, I couldn’t take everything with me, and I lost many things along the way. Nothing like a Raggedy Ann, though. That one was my daughter’s, and she isn’t much of a collector, so I took it over…LOL. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Please leave your thoughts. Comments, not awards, feed my soul. Thanks!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.